Stanley Pool Cup

Competition for clubs from Brazzaville and Léopoldville (now called Kinshasa), organised by the Fédération de Football Association du Pool, while both Congo and DR Congo (Zaire) were colonies (French and Belgian Congo respectively). Reportedly it also was open to clubs from Cabinda ("Portuguese Congo"), though this may have referred to "lusitanian" clubs from Léopoldville such as multiple winners AS Portuguesa.
It was therefore an international competition, open to "European" clubs, though both cities are located close to each other on the Malebo Pool (the current name of the Stanley Pool), a big lake in the Congo river.

In 1931, two "African" clubs from both cities met in Léopoldville in 1931, with Union de Léopoldville losing 1-5 to Etoile de Brazzaville; this is sometimes considered to have been an "African" version of the competition but if so, it does not appear to have been contested on a regular basis. However, in 1953 and 1954 (and possibly later) "African" clubs from both colonies competed for a Coupe de Noël.

Stanley Pool Championship


1928    ES Congolaise (Léopoldville)
1929    CO les Nomades (Léopoldville)
1930    ES Congolaise (Léopoldville)
1931    AS Léopoldville
1932    Diables Rouges (Brazzaville?)
1933      not awarded
1934    AS Portuguesa (Léopoldville)
1935    AS Portuguesa (Léopoldville)
1936    CS Belge (Léopoldville)
1937    CA Brazzaville
1938    CS Belge (Léopoldville)

Number of Wins

 2 CS Belge (Léopoldville)
   ES Congolaise (Léopoldville)
   AS Portuguesa (Léopoldville)

 1 CA Brazzaville
   Diables Rouges (Brazzaville?)
   AS Léopoldville
   CO les Nomades (Léopoldville) 

NB: Léopoldville now called Kinshasa.

About this document

Source: [FIF 52]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com)
Last updated: 20 May 2020

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler and RSSSF 2002/20
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.