Sub-Saharan Championship 1950

Organised in July 1950 in the city of Elisabethville (nowadays
Lubumbashi) in the province of Katanga, Belgian Congo.  The
teams involved were 'native'.  

The JBFA XI included 18 players, from the Johannesburg clubs 
African Morning Stars (4 players), Hungry Lions, Mighty Greens
(3 players each), Naughty Boys (2 players), Wemmer Blue Birds, 
Ladysmith Home Boys, Pimville Champions, Imperial Forces, 
London Walk Away and Bushbucks (all 1 player).  The team left 
Johannesburg on July 17th and arrived in Elisabethville after 
an 83-hour journey in the second class of the mail train on 
the morning of July 21st.

The final match on July 23rd was preceded by a curtain raiser
between local clubs Englebert and Vaticano, who both contributed
2 players to the Katanga XI playing JBFA; the other Katanga
players in the final came from local league champions Saint-Eloi 
(5 players), Lubumbashi Sports and Kipushi (1 player each).


Katanga XI (representing FASI, the Elisabethville 'black' FA)
Broken Hill XI (now Kabwe, Zambia)
JBFA XI (Johannesburg Bantu FA)

NB: referee and linesmen for the July 23rd match (and presumably
    the other 2) were provided by the 'white' Ligue de Football
    du Katanga (LFK).

Venue: stade Léopold II, Elisabethville

[Jul 21, 1950]
JBFA XI              2-2 Broken Hill
  [half-time 0-2; both JBFA goals by 'Booikie' Raphela]
[Jul 22, 1950]
Katanga XI           6-0 Broken Hill
[Jul 23, 1950; att: 30,000]
Katanga XI           8-0 JBFA XI
  [apparently JBFA scored 4 own goals, 3 by John 'American Spoon' 
   Khoza and one by 'Nonnie' Moletsan]

 1.Katanga XI          2   2  0  0  14- 0   4
 2.Broken Hill         2   0  1  1   2- 8   1
 3.JBFA XI             2   0  1  1   2-10   1

NB: the JAFA (Johannesburg African Football Association), a 1933
    split-off of the JBFA (founded 1929) boycotted the event.

About this document

Source: Unisa online

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl (
Last updated: 5 Apr 2007

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2007
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.