Surinam - List of District Champions

Below the national level, traditionally comprising 2 league levels called Hoofdklasse and Eerste Klasse, there currently are 18 regional federations ('lidbonden'), divided into 9 'randdistricten' (surrounding the capital Paramaribo; the 10th randdistrict of Paramaribo Centraal disappeared in 2012) and 9 'districten', further away from the capital (not including the southern district of Sipaliwini, which has a regional sports federation but that has not organised a football league for many years and currently is not a member of the S.V.B.).
Since 1973, the S.V.B. organised an annual tournament, the 'Randdistrictentoernooi', for the 'randdistricten' (normally involving the champions and runners-up of each), and since 1979 a similar one for the other 'districten', the 'Interdistrictentoernooi'. The winners and sometimes runners-up of those two tournaments were eligible for promotion to the national levels (usually to the second level, sometimes even directly to the top flight).
In the 2005/06 season, the two tournaments were combined into the 'lidbondentoernooi'.

In 1934, five districts were invited by the S.V.B. to compete for the "championship of the colony" in Paramaribo; first place was shared between Commewijne, Coronie and Nickerie.

Randdistrictentoernooi 1973-2005 | Interdistrictentoernooi 1979-2005 | Lidbondentoernooi since 2006

Randdistrictentoernooi 1973-2005

Year Winners (Lidbond)                   Runners-Up (Lidbond)

1973 Fortuna (Lelydorp)                  Santos (Paramaribo Centraal)
1974 Sea Boys (Lelydorp)                 Lions'71 (Nieuwe Generatie)
1975 Boxel (Domburg)                     Flamingo (Lelydorp)
1976 Paraguay (Lelydorp)
1977 Boxel (Domburg)                     Soleram (Paramaribo Centraal)
1978 S.C.A. (Lelydorp)                   Baru Padang (Kwatta)
1979 Amarjoti (Kwatta)                   Mipro (Kwatta)
1980 Real Java (Lelydorp)                Kamel Dewaker (Livorno)
1981 Ten CC (Domburg)                    Jai Hind (Kwatta)
1982 Producers (Pontbuiten)              Bonanza (Kwatta)
1983 Marai (Nieuwe Generatie)            Tornado (Lelydorp)
1984 Grantjie Boys (Nieuwe Generatie)    Inter Maretraite (Nieuwe Generatie)
1985 Road (Nieuwe Generatie)             P.V.V. (Paramaribo Centraal)
1986 De Rest (Blauwgrond)                Vasas (Blauwgrond)
1987 Lions'71 (Nieuwe Generatie)         Boxel'71 (Domburg)        
1988 Edo (Kwatta)                        Minerva (Livorno)
1989 Coronie Boys (Paramaribo Centraal)  Sea Boys (Lelydorp)
1990 Prekash (Leidingen)                 Palmeiras (Blauwgrond)
1991 Big Fellow (Pontbuiten)             Inter Benie (Kwatta)
1992 Zwaluw (Blauwgrond)                 Tornado (Lelydorp)
1993   not held
1994 Dego (Kwatta)                       Jai Hind (Meerzorg)
1995 Juniors'88 (Nieuwe Generatie)       Surland (Leidingen)
1996 H.O.B. (Kwatta)                     Excelsior (Meerzorg)
1997 Young Rhythm (Pontbuiten)           W.B.C. (Nieuwe Generatie)
1998 Royal'95 (Kwatta)                   Fortuna'75 (Lelydorp)
1999   not held
2000 Randjiet Boys (Leidingen)           Super Red Eagles (Nieuwe Generatie)
2001   not held
2002 Inter Kaya (Paramaribo Centraal)    Cruzeiro (Livorno)
2003 Ferano (Nieuwe Generatie)           Amardeep (Leidingen)
2004 Pechan (Leidingen)                  S.I.O.S. (Blauwgrond)
2005 Excelsior (Meerzorg)                Jai Hanuman (Livorno)                     

Number of Wins by Lidbond (30)

 6 Nieuwe Generatie

 5 Kwatta

 3 Domburg

 2 Blauwgrond
   Paramaribo Centraal

 1 Meerzorg

NB: H.O.B. = House Of Billiards
    P.V.V. = Politie Voetbal Vereniging
    W.B.C. = Walking Boyz Company

NB: the Pontbuiten lidbond (P.V.B.) does not exist anymore; clubs from there 
    appear to have entered the Wanica lidbond; possibly it was simply renamed;
    the Paramaribo Centraal lidbond (V.B.P.C.) deregistered from the S.V.B. in 2012.

Interdistrictentoernooi 1979-2005

Year Winners (Lidbond)                   Runners-Up (Lidbond)

1979 Santos (Nickerie)
1980 Arsenal (Wageningen)
1981 Real Moengo Tapoe (Moengo)
1982 Red Circle (Brokopondo)
1983 OSOS (Coronie)
1984 Excelsior (Moengo)
1985 Arsenal (Coronie)
1986 Bill Stars (Para)
1987 Remo (Nickerie)
1988   not held
1989 Voorburg (Commewijne)
1990 Corona Boys (Coronie)
1991 Santos (Nickerie)
1992 OSOS (Coronie)
1993 Inter Moengotapoe (Moengo)
1994 Peto (Moengo)
1995 Klaas Tiger (Brokopondo)
1996 SVV (Coronie)
1997 Papatam (Albina)
1998 Ricanau Mofo (Moengo)               Jai Hind (Nickerie)
1999   not held
2000 Lavoco (Coronie)                    FC Corona (Coronie)
2001   not held
2002 Boskamp (Saramacca)                 Adjoema (Moengo)
2003 Peto (Moengo)                   2-1 Arsenal (Coronie)
2004 Freyburg (Saramacca)            1-0 Papatam (Albina)
2005 SV 2000 (Moengo)                3-1 SV Notch (Moengo)

Number of Wins by Lidbond (24)

 7 Moengo

 6 Coronie

 3 Nickerie

 2 Brokopondo

 1 Albina
NB: of the above clubs, the following 8 have reached the top level
    ('hoofdklasse') in Surinam until 2011:

    1991 Corona Boys (Coronie) 
         Remo (Nickerie)
    1994 Inter Moengotapoe (Moengo)
    1999 Klaas Tiger (Brokopondo)
         Ricanau Mofo (Moengo)    
         Jai Hind (Nickerie)
    2005 Boskamp (Saramacca)     
    2011 SV Notch (Moengo)

Lidbondentoernooi since 2006

Year Winners (Lidbond)                   Runners-Up (Lidbond)

2006 PSV (Nickerie)                      Tammenga (Kwatta)
2007 Eendracht (Livorno)             3-1 Fortuna'75 (Lelydorp)
2008 De Ster (Lelydorp)              1-1 The Brothers (Coronie)          [6-5 pen]
2009 Inter Rica (Moengo)             3-2 Tammenga (Kwatta)
2010 Boma Star (Lelydorp)            4-2 Fortuna (Saramacca)
2011 ACoconut (Brokopondo)           4-2 Santos (Nickerie)
2012 Caravan (Livorno)               2-2 Papatam (Albina)                [4-2 pen]
2013 West United (Coronie)           2-2 Deva Boys (Meerzorg)            [4-1 pen]
2014 Jong Rambaan (Lelydorp)         2-1 Nishan 42 (Meerzorg)
2015 Santos (Nickerie)               2-2 Amar Deep (Leidingen)           [aet, 4-2 pen]
2016 Flora (Nieuwe Generatie)        4-3 Slee Junior (Nieuwe Generatie) 
2017 Happy Boys (Meerzorg)           3-0 Jong Aurora (Nieuwe Generatie) 
2018 Bintang Lahir (Meerzorg)        1-0 Flamingo (Lelydorp)
2019 Groningen (Saramacca)           1-1 Sophia (Kwatta)                 [3-2 pen]

NB: Inter Rica were formerly known as Ricanau Mofo;
    no club has won the tournament more than once and only two (Tammenga 2006 and 2009
    and Santos 2011 and 2015) were among the top-two on more than one occasion. 

Number of Wins by Lidbond (14; runners-up finishes between square brackets)

 3 [ 2] Lelydorp

 2 [ 2] Meerzorg
 2 [ 1] Nickerie
 2      Livorno

 1 [ 2] Nieuwe Generatie
 1 [ 1] Coronie
 1 [ 1] Saramacca
 1      Brokopondo
 1      Moengo

   [ 3] Kwatta     
   [ 1] Albina
   [ 1] Leidingen

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans (
Last updated: 22 Jan 2020

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2007/20
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.