Syria - List of Champions

Prior to the first national league championship held in 1966/67 and the first national cup tournament contested (but not finished) in 1959/60, leagues were contested in the major cities, with the Damascus league won by Union Sportive in 1941 and by Barada in 1942.
Season   Champions                Runners-Up               Third Place

1966/67  Al-Ahly (Aleppo)         Soori (Aleppo)           Ghazy (Deir ez-Zor)
1967/68  Al-Ahly (Aleppo)         Ghazy (Deir ez-Zor)      Barada (Damascus)
1968/69  Barada (Damascus)        Ghazy (Deir ez-Zor)      Al-Ahly (Aleppo) 
1969/70  Barada (Damascus)        Al-Ahly (Aleppo)         Al-Arabi (Aleppo) 
1970/71    no tournament
1971/72    no tournament
1972/73  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Karama (Homs)
1973/74    no tournament
1974/75  Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor) Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)
1975/76  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Horriya (Aleppo)
1976/77  Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Horriya (Aleppo)
1977/78    no tournament
1978/79  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)
1979/80  Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Horriya (Aleppo)      Al-Wathba (Homs)  
1980/81    no tournament
1981/82  Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Wathba (Homs)         Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)    
1982/83  Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Horriya (Aleppo)     
1983/84  Al-Karama (Homs)         Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)  
1984/85  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Jabala (Jabala)
1985/86  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor)
1986/87  Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Shorta (Damascus)
1987/88  Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor)
1988/89  Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Ittihad (Aleppo) 
1989/90  Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor) Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Wathba (Homs)     
1990/91  Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor) Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Shorta (Damascus) 
1991/92  Al-Horriya (Aleppo)      Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)    
1992/93  Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Horriya (Aleppo)     
1993/94  Al-Horriya (Aleppo)      Jabala (Jabala)          Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)
1994/95  Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Jabala (Jabala)          
1995/96  Al-Karama (Homs)         Hottin (Latakia)         Al-Horriya (Aleppo)     
1996/97  Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)  
1997/98  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Hottin (Latakia)    
1998/99  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Wahda (Damascus)
1999/00  Jabala (Jabala)          Hottin (Latakia)         Teshrin (Latakia)
2000/01  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)    
2001/02  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Wahda (Damascus)
2002/03  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Qardaha (Qardaha)
2003/04  Al-Wahda (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Teshrin (Latakia)
2004/05  Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Wahda (Damascus)
2005/06  Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Wahda (Damascus)
2006/07  Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Taliya (Hama)
2007/08  Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Majd (Damascus)       Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)
2008/09  Al-Karama (Homs)         Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Jaish (Damascus)     
2009/10  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)         Teshrin (Latakia)
2010/11  Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Wahda (Damascus) 
2011/12  Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Taliya (Hama)
2013     Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Horriya (Aleppo)
2014     Al-Wahda (Damascus)      Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Mouhafaza 
2014/15  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Shorta (Damascus)     Al-Wahda (Damascus)
2015/16  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Wahda (Damascus)      Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)
2016/17  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Wahda (Damascus)   
2017/18  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Al-Wahda (Damascus)
2018/19  Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Wahda (Damascus)   
2019/20  Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Wathba (Homs)         Hottin (Latakia)
2020/21  Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Jaish (Damascus)      Al-Karama (Homs)
2021/22  Teshrin (Latakia)        Al-Wathba (Homs)         Al-Jaish (Damascus)
2022/23  Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor) Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)      Jabala (Jabala)  
2023/24  Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor) Jabala (Jabala)          Teshrin (Latakia)

Number of Titles (53):

17 Al-Jaish (Damascus)       [aka Army]

 8 Al-Karama (Homs)

 6 Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)       [formerly known as Al-Ahly (Aleppo)]

 5 Teshrin (Latakia)

 4 Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor)  [formerly known as Ghazy]
   Jabala (Jabala)

 3 Al-Shorta (Damascus)      [aka Police]
 2 Barada (Damascus)         [temporarily known as Thowra]
   Al-Horriya (Aleppo) 
   Al-Wahda (Damascus)

Top-3 Placings Overview

club                     1st 2nd 3rd

Al-Jaish (Damascus)       17   6   2
Al-Karama (Homs)           8  12   3
Al-Ittihad (Aleppo)        6   9  11   [previously known as Al-Ahly]
Teshrin (Latakia)          5   2   4
Jabala (Jabala)            4   6   3
Al-Foutoua (Deir ez-Zor)   4   3   3   [previously known as Ghazy]
Al-Shorta (Damascus)       3   6   2
Al-Wahda (Damascus)        2   1   9
Al-Horriya (Aleppo)        2   1   7   [previously known as Al-Arabi]
Barada (Damascus)          2       1   [temporarily known as Thowra]
Al-Wathba (Homs)               3   2
Hottin (Latakia)               2   2
Al-Majd (Damascus)             1
Al-Yarmouk (Aleppo)            1       [previously known as Al-Soori]
Al-Taliya (Hama)                   2
Al-Mouhafaza                       1
Al-Qardaha (Qardaha)               1
                          53  53  53

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Davide Angelini, Hans Schöggl and Allam Rahmeh for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Davide Angelini (, Hans Schöggl and Allam Rahmeh (allamlatakia at
Last updated: 26 Apr 2024

(C) Copyright Davide Angelini, Hans Schöggl, Allam Rahmeh and RSSSF 1997/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.