Tanzania - List of Foundation Dates

1936         Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)                       [founded as Queens, later called Eagles
             African Sports SC (Tanga)                       and Sunderland; current name since 1971]
1938 Feb 11  Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)              [aka Yanga]
1948         Coastal Union SC (Tanga)
1952         Dodoma Railway African FC (Dodoma)
1956         Cosmopolitans (Dar-es-Salaam)                  [disbanded]
1972         Singida United FC (Singida)                    [founded as MTO Singida]
1973         Villa Squad FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1975         Pan-African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)                 [as split-off from Young Africans]
             Red Star SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1978         Maji Maji FC (Songea)
1982 (?)     Kaloleni Rangers SC (Arusha)
1988         Mtibwa Sugar Sport FC (Turiani)
             Shein Rangers SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1989         Ruvu Shooting Stars (Pvani)
1994         Rhino Rangers FC (Tabora)
2000         African Lyon FC (Dar-es-Salaam)                [founded as Mbagara Market FC] 
2004         Ashanti United SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2005         Mbao FC (Mwanza)
2007 Jun 24  Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)   
2008         Albino United (Dar-es-Salaam)
2010 Aug 24  Mtwila City Stars FC (Iringa)
2011 Aug 25  Mbeya City Council FC (Mbeya)
             Ndanda FC (Mtwara)
2012         Stand United (Shinyanga)
2013         Iringa United (Iringa)
             Biashara United Mara (Musoma)
2014         Kinondoni Municipal Council FC (Dar-es-Salaam) [founded as Tessema FC]
2015         Sahare All Stars (Tanga)
2020         Misitu FC (Lushoto)

NB: a football match in Tanganyika was first record in the UMCA mission diary
    of Magila for 17 September 1884 (UMCA = Universities' Mission to Central Africa)

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 13 Dec 2022

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2013/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.