UFOA Cup 2000

24th UFOA (West African Club) Cup 2000

First (Preliminary) Round
Zone A
AS Sigui (Kayès)         Mli  ASC Mauritel             Mtn   4-0  1-1  5-1
Ports Authority          SLe  AS Nianan (Koulikoro)    Mli   1-0  0-0  1-0
Fello Stars              Gui  Hawks (Banjul)           Gam   0-0  0-1  0-1
Mighty Blackpool         SLe                                 bye
Zone B
Udoji United             Nga  AS Fonctionnaires (BD)   BuF   4-0  2-0  6-0
Sahel SC                 Nig  Requins de l'Atlantique  Ben   3-2  0-1  3-3*
University               Ben  ASFAN (Niamey)           Nig   3-3  0-2  3-5
Niger Tornadoes          Nga                                 bye
Second Round
Mighty Blackpool         SLe  Ports Authority          SLe   1-1  0-2  1-3
AS Sigui (Kays)         Mli  Hawks (Banjul)           Gam   1-2  1-1  2-3 
Udoji United             Nga  ASFAN (Niamey)           Nig   2-0  2-1  4-1
Requins de l'Atlantique  Ben  Niger Tornadoes          Nga   2-0  1-6  3-6

Hawks (Banjul)           Gam  Ports Authority          SLe   0-0  0-1  0-1
Udoji United             Nga  Niger Tornadoes          Nga   2-1  0-1  2-2*

Losers Round
Hawks (Banjul)           Gam  Udoji United             Nga    -    -    - x
x Udoji United qualified

Final Round in Lomé, Togo, Dec 21-24
qualified as hosts: Dyto (Lomé); 
other participants: Ports Authority, Niger Tornadoes, Udoji United

Final Round was postponed indefinitely while the WAFU were trying to find
a sponsor for 20 million CFA francs ($28,000); apart from Mauritania, Ghana
and Togo all member countries owe the organisation money.  The 1999 finalists
have not been paid yet.

The competition was never completed and WAFU decided to replace the 
club competition by one for countries, the equally ill-fated 
WAFU Nations Cup 2001.

overview file


2001 Nations Cup


About this document

Prepared and maintained by the RSSSF

Author: RSSSF
Last updated: 9 Jul 2009

(C) Copyright RSSSF 2000/09
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the RSSSF. All rights reserved.