WAFU Nations Cup

The first edition of the tournament was scheduled to be played in Senegal in 2001, but later moved to Ivory Coast. After several postponements, the tournament was eventually abandoned in September 2002, due to the Ivorian Civil War.
In 2005 a "WAFU Laurent Gbagbo West African Unity Cup" was organised between four of the better teams of the region, as a one-off invitational tournament.
After an U-20 tournament in 2008 in Nigeria, the WAFU successfully organised its first ever Nations Cup in 2010. This competition is reserved to squads composed of players active in African leagues.

The CSSA Nations Cup held on five occasions between 1982 and 1987 can be seen as a predecessor.


year winners       runners-up    third         fourth            venue          
2001     cancelled due to the Ivorian Civil War                  Ivory Coast
2010 Nigeria   2-0 Senegal       Ghana         Burkina Faso      Nigeria
2011 Togo      3-2 Nigeria       Liberia       Ghana             Nigeria
2013 Ghana     3-1 Senegal       Togo          Benin             Ghana
2017 Ghana     4-1 Nigeria       Niger         Benin             Ghana
2019 Senegal   1-1 Ghana     [3-1 pen]                           Senegal

Number of Wins (5, lost finals between square brackets)

 2 [ 1] Ghana

 1 [ 2] Nigeria
 1 [ 2] Senegal
 1      Togo

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Roberto Di Maggio for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Roberto Di Maggio
Last updated: 24 Oct 2019

(C) Copyright Roberto Di Maggio and RSSSF 2018/19
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.