South Africa - Foundation Dates of Clubs

Benoni                  1932    Benoni Callies

Bethlehem               1977    Free State Stars FC [founded as Makwane Computer Stars]

Bloemfontein            1898    Hamilton Crescents
                        1969	Bloemfontein Celtic

Boksburg                1926    Boksburg FC

Cape Town         5 Jun 1883    Wanderers [first club in Cape Town]
                        1884    AA Club
                        1884    Cape Town Press
                        1884    Thistles
                        1889    Pioneers
                        1898    Clyde Pinelands [founded as Clyde]
                        1902    De Beers AFC
                        1903    Green Point
                        1903    Liesbeek Park [founded as Railway]
                        1903    Spenston
                        1920    Sea Point Swifts
                        1923    Tramway
                        1927    Everton
                        1927    Garden Village
                        1929    Battswood
                        1929    Devonshire Rovers
                        1930    Fish Hoek
                        1958	Hellenic (Goodwood)
                        1969	Cape Town Spurs [merged 1999 with Seven Stars FC to Ajax FC]
                        1980    Vasco da Gama   
                        1982    Santos FC
                        1995    Seven Stars FC [merged 1999 with Cape Town Spurs to Ajax FC]
                        1999    Ajax FC [merger of Seven Stars FC and Cape Town Spurs]
                        1999    Mother City FC
                 29 Jun 2016    Cape Town City FC

Durban                  1902    Durban Bush Bucks FC
                        1902    Stella	
                        1906    African Wanderers FC
  			1928	Manning Rangers 
			1932	Amazulu 
                        1952    Durban Ramblers
                        1959    Durban City
                        1959    Durban United FC [dissolved 1978]
                        1970    Durban Spurs FC
			1982	Crytal Brains 
East London             1898    Caledonians FC

Ga-Mphahlele     30 Dec 2007    Baroka FC 

Germiston               1906    Germiston Callies [amalgamated 1979 with Katlehong City]

Johannesburg            1888    Alpha Club [dissolved 1889; members then formed Wanderers and Wasps]
                        1889    Rangers FC
                        1889    Wanderers
                        1889    Wasps
                        1899    Wynberg St Johns
                        1903    Arcadia Shepherds
                        1905    Marist Brothers
                        1922    Wits University FC (Witwatersrand)
                        1927    African Morning Stars FC (Sophiatown)
                        1932    Southern Suburbs 
                 10 Oct 1947    Moroka Swallows FC     
                        1950    Olympia (Bedfordview)
                        1953    Southern Park [temporary merger of Southern Suburbs and Regents Park]
                        1954    Dynamos (Ferreirastown)
                        1959    Johannesburg City [founded as Northern United]
                        1959    Leicester City [founded as Manchester United] (Noordgesig)
                        1966    Lusitano FC
                        1970	Sundowns 
                        1970	Kaizer Chiefs
                        1979    Mamelodi United
                        1983	Jomo Cosmos [founded as Dion Cosmos following acquisition of
                                             Dion Highlands Park franchise]

Kameelrivier            2015    TS Galaxy FC

Kwa-Mhlanga		1937	Witbank Aces 

Kwa-Thema               1958    PUBS (Pilkington United Brothers) [founded as Hong Kong Stars]

Lamontville             1943    Golden Arrows FC

Marshalltown		1937	Orlando Pirates [founded as Orlando Boys FC]
                        1947	Moroka Swallows 

Nelspruit               1937    Dangerous Darkies

Orkney                  1973    Vaal Reef Stars

Phokeng                 1998    Platinum Stars FC [founded as Silver Stars FC]

Phuthaditjhaba          1979    Free State Stars

Pietermaritzburg        1879    Pietermaritzburg County [first ever civilian club in South Africa]
                        1882    Savages FC [founded as Savage; oldest surviving club in South Africa in 2002]
                        1959    Maritzburg Celtic
                        1981    Maritzburg United FC 

Polokwane               1989    Ria Stars [dissolved 2002]

Port Elizabeth          2010    Chippa United FC

Potgietersrus		1975	Real Rovers

Pretoria                1903    Arcadia Shepherds [merged 1963 with ISCOR Pretoria to Arcadia United]
                        1918    Berea Park FC [founded as Pretoria South African Railway]
                        1963    Arcadia United FC [merger of Arcadia Shepherds and ISCOR Pretoria]     
                        1930    Pretoria Callies FC [founded as Bantu Callies FC; dissolved 1986]
                        1970    Mamelodi Sundowns FC [founded as Pretoria Sundowns]
                        1985	Pretoria City    
Sharpeville             1933    Transvaal Jumpers FC
Stanger                 1990    Tongaat Crusaders United

Stellenbosch            1905    Newtons
                  3 Aug 2016    Stellenbosch FC
Tembisa                 1994    Tembisa Classic [merger of Tembisa Santos and Mathole Pirates]

Thohoyandou             1983    Black Leopards FC [founded as Sibasa Black Leopards FC]
                        1994    Rabali Blackpool FC [dissolved 1997]

Umtata			1957	Umtata Bucks

Vereeniging		1930	Vaal Professionals 

Verulam                 1966    Verulam Suburbs FC [dissolved 1977]
Welkom                  1965    Welkom Real Hearts

Witsieshoek		1979	Qwa Qwa Stars

Women Clubs

1970        Mamelodi Sundowns FC (Pretoria)
1986        Spurs WFC (Wynberg)
1990        Durban Ladies FC (Durban)           [founded as Umlazi Fast Eagles]
1997        Sunflower WFC (Mpumalanga)
2002        Lindelani Ladies FC  (Durban)
2011        Diepkloof Ladies FC (Soweto, Johannesburg)
2012        Janine Van Wyk FC (Bedfordview)
2015        Heideveld Female Football Academy (Heideveld)
2017        NC Consciousness Ladies FC (Kuruman)
2018        First Touch Ladies FC (Polokwane)
2019        Copperbelt Ladies FC (Polokwane)

About this document

Sources included: [Raa 02]

Prepared and maintained by Lars Kubusch and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Lars Kubusch and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 13 Dec 2022

(C) Copyright Lars Kubusch, Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2002/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.