Zimbabwe - List of Foundation Dates

1914  Shabanie Mine FC (Zvishavane)
1926  Zimbabwe Highlanders FC (Bulawayo)   [founded as Lions FC]
      Zimbabwe Republic Police FC (Harare) [founded as Black Mambas FC (Salisbury)] 
1931  Zimbabwe Saints FC (Bulawayo)        [merger of several teams which had their origins from Shona speaking areas] 
1933  British South Africa Police (Harare)
1937  Que Que African Police (Kwekwe)
1940  Hwange FC (Hwange)                   [founded as Wankie FC]
1948  FC Wangu Mazodze
196?  Black Aces FC (Harare)               [founded as Highfield Tornados (Salisbury)]      
1963  Dynamos FC (Harare)                  [founded as St Paul's FC]
      Cobras (Bulawayo)
1965  Arcadia United FC (Harare)
1969  CAPS United FC (Harare)              [founded as Rovers FC]     
1972  Shooting Stars FC (Chitungwiza)      [founded as Davison Chemicals] 
      Triangle United FC (Chiredzi)
1978  How Mine FC (Bulawayo)
      Whawha FC (Gweru)    
      Blue Swallows FC (Harare)            [founded as New Sarum FC]
1981  Cranborne Bullets FC
1982  Border Strikers FC (Beitbridge)
      Black Rhinos FC (Harare)             [played 1982-99 in Mutare] 
1984  Chapungu United FC (Gweru)           [founded as Airforce FC]
1992  Lancashire Steel FC (Kwekwe)     
      Sporting Lions FC (Harare)
1995  FC Platinum (Zvishavane)             [founded as Mimosa FC]
1996  Amazulu FC (Bulawayo)                [disbanded 2005]
1997  FK Zimanzi (Masvingo)                [founded as Masvingo United FC]
      Chicken Inn FC (Bulawayo)
      Buffaloes FC (Mutare)
2000  Kiglon Bird FC (Chitungwiza)
      Motor Action FC (Harare) 
2001  Flame Lily FC (Harare)
2002  Lengthens FC (Harare)
2003  Eastern Lions FC (Mutare)            [founded as Nyika United FC]  
      Kestrenal Athletic (Harare)
      Monomotapa United FC (Harare)
2004  Hardbody FC (Gweru)
2005  Eiffel Wildcats FC (Kadoma)          [merger of Eiffel Flats FC and Athletico Wildcats] 
      Yadah FC (Harare)                    [founded as Gunners FC]
2006  Bulawayo City FC (Bulawayo)
      Eagles FC (Chitungwiza)              [founded as Chitungwiza United]
      Quelaton FC (Njube)
2007  Tsholotsholo FC (Tsholotsholo)       [in January]
      Ngezi Platinum Stars FC (Selous)     [founded as Ngezi Porto FC]
2008  Bantu Tshintsha Guluva Rovers (Bulawayo)
2009  Gaza Gunners FC (Chipinge)
      Starbill FC (Harare)
      Baobab Rovers FC (Hwange)
2010  Triple B FC (Beitbridge)
      Harare City FC (Harare)
2011  Mushowani Stars FC (Madziwa)
2012  Bulawayo Chiefs (Bulawayo)
      Mutare City Rovers (Mutare)          [July 21]
      Rimbi Sunshine FC (Chipinge)
2013  Amagagasi FC (Victoria Falls)
2014  Dongo Sawmills FC (Rusape)
      Nichrut FC (Shurugwi)
2016  Telone FC (Gweru)
2017  Manica Diamonds FC (Mutare)

About this document

Main source: http://www.weltfussballarchiv.com

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 12 Feb 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2011/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.