IFFHS' World's Best Goalkeeper of the Year 2003

Award given by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS); the election is for the calendar year.

Top 21

 1. Gianluigi BUFFON                  186 pts  Italy           Juventus (Ita)
 2. Iker CASILLAS                     112      Spain           Real Madrid (Spa)
 3. Oliver KAHN                       106      Germany         Bayern München (Ger)
 4. Nélson de Jesus e Silva "DIDA"     99      Brazil          Milan AC (Ita)
 5. Francesco TOLDO                    36      Italy           Inter Milan (Ita)
 6. Roberto ABBONDANZIERI              35      Argentina       Boca Juniors (Arg)
    Timo HILDEBRAND                    35      Germany         VfB Stuttgart (Ger)
 8. Timothy HOWARD                     26      U.S.A.          Metro Stars (USA) / Manchester United (Eng)
 9. Fabien BARTHEZ                     23      France          Manchester United (Eng)
10. Petr CECH                          18      Czech Republic  Stade Rennes (Fra)
11. Carlo CUDICINI                     17      Italy           Chelsea (Eng)
    Ivan PELLIZZOLI                    17      Italy           AS Roma (Ita)
13. Andonios NIKOPOLIDIS               16      Greece          Panathinaikos (Gre)
14. José Luis CHILAVERT                15      Paraguay        Peñarol (Uru)
    Sergey OVCHINNIKOV                 15      Russia          Lokomotiv Moskva (Rus)
16. RÜSTÜ Reçber                       10      Turkey          Fenerbahce (Tur) / FC Barcelona (Spa)
    Sander WESTERVELD                  10      Netherlands     Real Sociedad (Spa)
18. Vítor Manuel Martins "VÍTOR BAÍA"   8      Portugal        FC Porto (Por)
19. Jens LEHMANN                        7      Germany         Arsenal FC (Eng)
20. Edwin VAN DER SAR                   6      Netherlands     Fulham FC (Eng)
21. Dany VERLINDEN                      5      Belgium         Club Brugge (Bel)

overview file



About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 9 Feb 2005

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2004/05
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.