IFFHS' World's Best Goalkeeper of the Year 2006

Award given by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS); the election is for the calendar year.

Top 22

 1. Gianluigi BUFFON                  295 pts  Italy           Juventus (Ita)
 2. Jens LEHMANN                      140      Germany         Arsenal FC (Eng)
 3. Petr CECH                          91      Czech Republic  Chelsea (Eng)
 4. Iker CASILLAS                      47      Spain           Real Madrid (Spa)
 5. Edwin VAN DER SAR                  45      Netherlands     Manchester United (Eng)
 6. ROGÉRIO Ceni                       39      Brazil          São Paulo FC (Bra)
 7. RICARDO Alexandre Martins Soares   38      Portugal        Sporting Lisboa (Por)
 8. Nélson de Jesus e Silva "DIDA"     34      Brazil          Milan AC (Ita)
 9. Roberto ABBONDANZIERI              19      Argentina       Boca Juniors (Arg) / Getafe FC (Spa)
10. Fabien BARTHEZ                     18      France          Olympique de Marseille (Fra) /No club
11. Oliver KAHN                        12      Germany         Bayern München (Ger)
    Víctor VALDÉS                      12      Spain           FC Barcelona (Spa)
13. Pascal ZUBERBÜHLER                 11      Switzerland     West Bromwich Albion (Eng)
14. Grégory COUPET                      9      France          Olympique Lyon (Fra)
    Oswaldo SÁNCHEZ                     9      Mexico          CD Guadalajara (Mex)
16. Heurelho da Silva GOMES             8      Brazil          PSV Eindhoven (Hol)
17. Andrés PALOP                        6      Spain           Sevilla FC (Spa)
18. Igor AKINFEYEV                      5      Russia          CSKA Moskva (Rus)
    José María BULJUBASICH              5      Argentina       Universidad Católica (Chi)
    Mark SCHWARZER                      5      Australia       Middlesbrough (Eng)

overview file



About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 6 Feb 2008

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2007/08
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.