CONCACAF Cup Winners Cup and Giants Cup

The Cup Winners Cup tournament of CONCACAF suffered from inadequate organisation and the fact that many countries have only irregularly held cup competitions. The last three tournaments started all remain to be finished. They never will.

In 2001, with the three last Cup Winners Cup tournaments still in limbo, the CONCACAF came up with the innovative idea of inviting teams based on league attendance and calling it the Giants Cup. The tournament was finished (albeit over three months later than scheduled) but not repeated.

In 2017, a new "secondary" club tournament, the CONCACAF League, was created.


Cup Winners Cup
1991 Atlético Marte
1992   tournament not held
1993 Monterrey
1994 Necaxa
1995 Universidad Autonoma de Guadalajara
1996   abandoned
1997   abandoned
1998   abandoned
Giants Cup
2001 América

Clubwise list of winners

América                   1
Atlético Marte            1
Monterrey                 1
Necaxa                    1
UA Guadalajara            1

Countrywise list of winners

Mexico                    4

El Salvador               1


Cup Winners Cup
1991    Atlético Marte (winner of final tournament)
1992    tournament not held
1993    Monterrey (winner of final tournament)
1994    Necaxa             3-0 Aurora
1995    UA Guadalajara     2-1 Luis Angel Firpo
1996      abandoned
1997    Olimpia            n/p Necaxa
1998      abandoned
Giants Cup
2001    América            2-0 DC United

            win   fin
Mexico       4      6
El Salvador  1      2
Honduras            2
Guatemala           1
USA                 1 
             5     12

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 15 Jun 2017

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 1995/2017
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.