FIFA Club World Cup 2008


Manchester United FC (England) - 2007/08 UEFA Champions' League winners
LDU de Quito (Ecuador)         - 2008 Copa Libertadores winners
Gamba Osaka (Japan)            - 2008 Asian Champions' League winners
Pachuca CF (Mexico)            - 2007/08 FC Champions Cup winners
Waitakere United (New Zealand) - 2007/08 Oceanian Champions' Cup winners
Al-Ahly FC (Egypt)             - 2008 African Champions' Cup winners
Adelaide United (Australia)    - 2008 Japanese Championship winners

NB: as a Japanese club (Gamba Osaka) won the Asian CL, the losing 
    finalists (Adelaide United) will enter in place of the Japanese champions

Round 1
11-12-08 19:45  Match 1.  Adelaide United  2-1 Waitakere United        Tokyo

Quarter Finals (Round 2)
13-12-08 13:45  Match 2.  Al-Ahly          2-4 Pachuca CF        [aet] Tokyo
14-12-08 19:30  Match 3.  Adelaide United  0-1 Gamba Osaka             Toyota

Semi Finals
17-12-08 19:30  Match 4.  Pachuca CF       0-2 LDU de Quito            Tokyo
18-12-08 19:30  Match 5.  Gamba Osaka      3-5 Manchester United       Yokohama

5th Place Match
18-12-08 16:30  Match 6.  Al-Ahly          0-1 Adelaide United         Yokohama

3rd Place Match
21-12-08 16:30  Match 7.  Pachuca CF       0-1 Gamba Osaka             Yokohama

21-12-08 19:30  Match 8.  LDU de Quito     0-1 Manchester United       Yokohama

 Venue: Tokyo    = Tokyo National Stadium (in Tokyo)
        Toyota   = Toyota Stadium (in Toyota, Aichi)
        Yokohama = International Stadium Yokohama (in Yokohama, Kanagawa)
 "International Stadium Yokohama" is called as "Nissan Stadium" in usual,
 but FIFA bans the name under the naming rights deal in its tournament.
 On the other hand, Toyota City was changed its name in 1959, so there is 
 no problem about the name of stadium.
 The times of kick-off are in Japan Standard Time (JST), +9:00 from UTC.

Confederation A-C = drawn from the three champion clubs of AFC Champions League,
CAF Champions League and CONCACAF Champions Cup

overview file.

Full details.



About this document

Prepared and maintained by Marcelo Leme de Arruda and Masanori "Komabano" Nakanishi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Marcelo Leme de Arruda ( and Masanori "Komabano" Nakanishi (
Last updated: 8 Sep 2016

(C) Copyright Marcelo Leme de Arruda, Masanori "Komabano" Nakanishi and RSSSF 2008/16
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.