Lunar New Year Cup 1985 (Hongkong)

This was a 7-a-side competition, played according to a "double elimination" format
in which a team is eliminated after two defeats.  Below, italics indicate when each
team was eliminated.

20th January:

Round 1
British    1-0 Meixian
Chinese    1-0 Shandong
Guangzhou  1-0 Macau
Shanghai   2-1 League

Winners Round 2 (winners R1)
British    2-0 Chinese
Guangzhou  1-0 Shanghai

Losers Round 2 (losers R1)
Meixian    1-0 Shandong
League     4-0 Macau

21st January:

Seventh place match (losers LR2)
Shandong   3-0 Macau

Losers Round 3 (winners LR2 vs losers WR2)
Shanghai   1-0 Meixian
League     4-1 Chinese

Fifth place match (losers LR3)
Meixian    0-0 Chinese  (3-0 corners)

Losers Round 4 (winners LR3)
League     2-1 Shanghai

Winners Final (winners WR2)
British    3-0 Guangzhou

Losers Final (winner LR4 vs loser WF)
League     4-0 Guangzhou

Final (winner WF vs winner LF)
British    1-0 League

Final placings
1. Combined British
2. League Selection
3. Guangzhou
4. Shanghai
5. Meixian
6. Combined Chinese
7. Shandong
8. Macau Selection

overview file



About this document

Thanks to "Tanaka"

Prepared and maintained by Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Neil Morrison
Last updated: 17 Jan 2012

(C) Copyright Neil Morrison and RSSSF 2012
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.