DR Congo (Zaire) - Congo-Léopoldville Champions

Competition for clubs from (the regions around) Léopoldville (now as Kinshasa the capital of the current DR Congo, then part of Belgian Congo).

Between 1923 and 1950 clubs from Léopoldville joined those from Brazzaville (in the French colony across the Congo river) in the Stanley Pool Championship.


1917/18 FC Castermans [other source: Coastmen]
1918/19 Léopoldville I
1919/20 Léopoldville I
1920/21 Léopoldville I
1921/22 CS Léo I
1922/23 CS Léo I
1923/24 Union
1924/25 Union
1925/26 Union
1926/27 Mutuel
1927/28 Congo Club
1928/29 Union
1929/30 Union
1930/31 Standard
1931/32 Union
1932/33 Union
1933/34 Etoile
1934/35 Union
1935/36 Union
1936/37 Renaissance
1937/38 Renaissance
1938/39 Standard
1939/40 Diable Rouge
1940/41 Siècle
1941/42 Victoria Club    
1942/43 Daring           
1943/44 Nomades
1944/45 Daring
1945/46 Victoria Club
1946/47 Victoria Club
1947/48 Daring
1948/49 Daring
1949/50 Victoria Club

NB: Victoria Club now known as Vita Club or V. Club
    Daring now known as DC Motema Pembe

Léopoldville 1933

The league was contested by 5 clubs: 
Union (champions), Standaert, Etoile, Excelsior, Renaissance

Zaire regional champions

About this document

Partial sources: [Vel 01], [Tra 02].

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 29 Dec 2021

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2003/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.