Malta - List of Testaferrata Cup Finals

The Testaferrata Cup, awarded to the winners between the Champions and the Cup winners, replaced the Scicluna Cup after a change in the Stadium management. Its first edition was played in season 1964/65. Replaced once more by the Scicluna Cup in season 1965/66 due to a dispute between the Malta Football Association and the Stadium management, this annual match was resumed in 1974/75. Played at irregular intervals it came to an end in 1980/81 just before the football was transferred from the Upper Manoel Island ground to the National Stadium in Ta'Qali.
see the overview file for Maltese Super Cups.
Testaferrata Cup
Year      Winners                  Runners up               Result
1964/65   Sliema Wanderers         Hibernians Paola         4-1
1965-74     not held
1974/75   Sliema Wanderers         FC Valletta              3-2
1975/76   FC Floriana              Sliema Wanderers         1-0
1976/77   Hibernians Paola         FC Floriana              2-2
          Both teams are joint winners
1977/78   FC Floriana              FC Valletta              1-1
    rep   FC Floriana              FC Valletta              3-2
1978/79   Hibernians Paola         FC Floriana              3-1
1979/80   FC Valletta              Sliema Wanderers         2-0
1980/81   Hibernians Paola         FC Valletta              3-0

Number of Wins [lost finals between brackets]

FC Floriana         3   [ 1]   (once held jointly with Hibernians Paola)
Hibernians Paola    3   [ 1]   (once held jointly with FC Floriana)

Sliema Wanderers    2   [ 2]

FC Valletta         1   [ 3]

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Oliver Haupt for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Oliver Haupt (oli at
Last updated: 1 Jan 2006

(C) Copyright Oliver Haupt and RSSSF 2006
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.