Nigeria (Women) 2001

First Stage

NB: played in 3 groups after Waheed Babes FC (Kaduna) pulled out of
    the 2000 league (with 14 teams) following a road accident and 
    protested their subsequent relegation; eventually no teams were 
    relegated and 6 promoted from the 2nd level

Zone A
Pelican Stars (Calabar)
Rivers Angels SC (Port Harcourt)
Bayelsa Queens (Yeanagoa)
Iborn Babes
Capital Queens (Uyo)
Coal City
Ezeani Stars

Zone B
FCT Queens (Abuja)
Tin City Queens (Jos)
Ajiboso Ladies
Sunshine Queens (Akure)
Oladimeji Tigress (Ilorin)
Waheed Babes (Kaduna)

Zone C
Police Machine
Verobim Queens
Delta Queens (Asaba) (or Warri?)
Inneh Queens (Benin)
Omidiran Babes (Oshogbo)
Navy Angels
Fast Focus FC

Pepsi Super Six League (Championship Playoff)

[Sep 3?]
River Angels             4-0 Inneh Queens

NB: after this match the River Angels were trailing defending
    champions Pelican Stars by 2 points

Pelican Stars won championship

Chairman's Cup 2001 (first ed.)

Jegede Babes FC (Lagos)  0-0 Aina Babes (Oshodi-Isolo)   [4-2 pen]

1992/93 (cup)


list of champions

list of cup winners

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl (
Last updated: 18 Jan 2006

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2003/06
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.