Scotland (Women) - List of Champions

The league was run by the SWFA between 1972 and 1999, when the SWL was formed to take over its organisation. In 2002, the SWL Premier Division clubs broke away to form the SWPL, which thus became the new top tier league. NOTE the SWFA ran the league competition between 1972-1999 before forming
NB: for additional information, see: Scottish Women's Leagues
    at the Scottish Football Historical Results Archive. 

          Champions                  Runners-up

1937      Edinburgh City Girls   7-0 Glasgow Ladies        
SWFA Division 1
1972/73   Westthorn United
1973/74   Motherwell AEI
1974/75   Motherwell AEI
1975/76   Edinburgh Dynamos          Motherwell AEI
1976-79     not known 
1979/80   Motherwell
1980/81     not known 
1981/82   Motherwell
1982/83   Dundee Strikers
1983/84   Allanton Miners' Welfare
1984/85   Whitehill
1985/86     not known 
1986/87   Dundee Strikers
1987/88   Stewarton Thistle
1988-90     not known 
1990/91   Inveralmond Thistle
1991/92   Inveralmond Thistle
1992/93     not known   
1993/94   Hutchison Vale
1994/95   Hutchison Vale
1995/96   Cumbernauld United
1996/97   Cumbernauld United
1997/98   Cumbernauld United
1998/99     not known
Scottish Women's Football League
1999/00   Cumbernauld United
2000/01   Ayr United                 Glasgow City
2001/02   Kilmarnock                 Glasgow City
Scottish Women's Premier League
2002/03   Kilmarnock  
2003/04   Hibernian Ladies           Glasgow City  
2004/05   Glasgow City          
2005/06   Hibernian Ladies           Glasgow City
2006/07   Hibernian Ladies           Glasgow City
2007/08   Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies     
2008/09   Glasgow City               Spartans
2009      Glasgow City               Celtic
2010      Glasgow City               Celtic
2011      Glasgow City               Spartans
2012      Glasgow City               Forfar Farmington
2013      Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies    
2014      Glasgow City
2015      Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies    
2016      Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies               
2017      Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies
2018      Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies
2019      Glasgow City               Hibernian Ladies
2020        abandoned
2020/21   Glasgow City               Celtic
2021/22   Rangers                    Glasgow City 

Number of Titles (23; since 1999)

15 Glasgow City

 3 Hibernians Ladies (Edinburgh)

 2 Kilmarnock

 1 Ayr United
   Cumbernauld United 

About this document

Source for 1937 information:

Thanks to Brian McColl abd Roberto Di Maggio

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 16 Nov 2022

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2008/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.