Spain - U-19 League Champions 1986-2022

From 1950 to 1986 there was no Spanish youth league. Teams played in regional and multi-regional leagues (six in the last seasons), and the top teams in each qualified to play the Copa del Rey de Juveniles.

The Spanish League under-19, named Superliga Juvenil, was created in 1986, with 16 teams; in 1990 it was renamed the Liga de Honor Sub-19, allowing clubs to line up footballers up to this age; in 1995 it was disbanded due to economical problems.

In the 1995-96 season, the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) undertook a major restructuring: the U19 League was eliminated, so that the División de Honor, which until then was the second level, became the highest category. As the División de Honor was divided into six territorial groups, it was established that the champions of each league would dispute a final phase in neutral territory, baptized Copa de Campeones, to determine the national champions. Originally, the Copa de Campeones was played in two phases: a league, with two groups of three teams each, and a final between the top two in each group.

See also the youth cup history.


Season   Champions                   Runners-Up                         Venue final
1986/87  Real Madrid CF              FC Barcelona
1987/88  Real Madrid CF              FC Barcelona
1988/89  Athletic Club de Bilbao     CA Osasuna 
1989/90  Real Madrid CF              Real Betis Balompié
Liga de Honor Sub-19
1990/91  Sevilla FC                  FC Barcelona
1991/92  Athletic Club de Bilbao     Real Madrid CF
1992/93  Real Madrid CF              Real Valladolid 
1993/94  FC Barcelona                Valencia CF
1994/95  Sevilla FC                  FC Barcelona
Copa de Campeones División de Honor
1995/96  RC Deportivo La Coruña  2-1 Real Madrid CF   
1996/97  Real Madrid CF          2-0 Sevilla FC   
1997/98  Real Sociedad           2-1 Valencia CF  
1998/99  Real Sociedad           0-0 Sevilla FC              [4-3 pen]
1999/00  Real Madrid CF          4-2 FC Barcelona   
2000/01  CA Osasuna              1-0 Atlético de Madrid   
2001/02  Atlético de Madrid      3-0 Real Zaragoza   
2002/03  Málaga CF               2-0 RCD Espanyol   
2003/04  Real Sporting de Gijón  0-0 RCD Espanyol            [4-1 pen]
2004/05  FC Barcelona            3-1 Real Sporting de Gijón  
2005/06  Real Madrid CF          1-0 Real Valladolid   
2006/07  Valencia CF             3-1 Real Madrid CF  
2007/08  RCD Espanyol            2-1 Villarreal CF   
2008/09  FC Barcelona            2-0 RC Celta de Vigo      
2009/10  Real Madrid CF          3-1 Valencia CF   
2010/11  FC Barcelona            3-1 Real Madrid CF    
2011/12  Sevilla FC              1-0 RCD Espanyol                       Estadio Ciudad de Lepe, Lepe
2012/13  Sevilla FC              3-2 RC Celta de Vigo                   Estadio de Balaídos, Vigo
2013/14  Real Madrid CF          1-1 Real Sociedad           [7-6 pen]  Estadio Municipal de Las Viñas, Vera
2014/15  Villarreal CF           3-2 RCD Espanyol                       Estadio Municipal Francisco Bonet, Almuñecar
2015/16  Málaga CF               1-1 Sevilla FC              [3-0 pen]  Estadio Municipal de Las Viñas, Vera
2016/17  Real Madrid CF		 1-0 Málaga CF                          Estadio de O´Couto (Ourense)
2017/18  Atlético de Madrid	 3-1 Real Sporting de Gijón		Estadio Rey Juan Carlos I (Ciudad Real)
2018/19  Real Zaragoza		 0-0 Villarreal CF           [7-6 pen]  Estadio Abanca Balaídos (Vigo)
2019/20    not disputed          [*]
2020/21  RC Deportivo La Coruña	 3-1 FC Barcelona			Estadio Football Center (Marbella) 
2021/22  FC Barcelona		 2-0 Athletic club                      Ciudad del fútbol, Las Rozas (Madrid)
2022/23  Real Madrid CF		 3-1 Real Betis Balompié

[*] On 6 May 2020, the Royal Spanish Football Federation announced the cancellation of the
    Copa de Campeones Juvenil for the season due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Spain

Number of Wins (36; runners-up finishes in square brackets)

11 [ 4] Real Madrid CF

 5 [ 6] FC Barcelona

 4 [ 3] Sevilla FC

 2 [ 1] Málaga CF
 2 [ 1] Real Sociedad (San Sebastián)
 2 [ 1] Atlético de Madrid
 2      RC Deportivo de La Coruña
 2      Athletic Club de Bilbao

 1 [ 4] RCD Espanyol (Barcelona)
 1 [ 3] Valencia CF
 1 [ 2] Real Sporting de Gijón 
 1 [ 2] Villarreal CF   
 1 [ 1] RC Deportivo de La Coruña
 1 [ 1] CA Osasuna (Pamplona)
 1 [ 1] Real Zaragoza

   [ 2] RC Celta de Vigo      
   [ 2] Real Valladolid
   [ 2] Real Betis Balompié (Sevilla)

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Carles Lozano Ferrer and Raúl Torre for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Carles Lozano Ferrer and Raúl Torre
Last updated: 2 Oct 2023

(C) Copyright Carles Lozano Ferrer, Raúl Torre and RSSSF 2000/23
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.