Togo - List of Champions

Football was played by Europeans in the (then) capital towns of Baguida, Zébévi and Lomé between 1884 and 1897 when the country was a German colony, but no football structures existed until after the first clubs were founded in the coastal areas by English merchants during the French era, after World War I; the sports became truly popular during the thirties.
before independence
1934     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1936/37  Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1937/38  Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1940     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1944     Modèle (Lomé)
1945     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1946/47  Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1947/48  Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1949     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1952/53  Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1954     Essor (Lomé)
1955     Essor (Lomé)
1956     Essor (Lomé)
1956/57  Essor (Lomé)
1958/59  Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1959     Modèle (Lomé)
1960     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
since independence
1961     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1962     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1963       not known
1964     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1965     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1966     Modèle (Lomé)
1967     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1968     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1969     Modèle (Lomé)
1970     Dynamic Togolais (Lomé)
1971     Dynamic Togolais (Lomé)
1972     Modèle (Lomé)
1973     Modèle (Lomé)
1974     Lomé 1 (Lomé)
1975     Lomé 1 (Lomé)
1976     Lomé 1 (Lomé)
1977       no competition
1978     Semassi (Sokodé)
1979     Semassi (Sokodé)
1980     Agaza (Lomé)
1980/81  Semassi (Sokodé)
1982     Semassi (Sokodé)                      [runners-up: ASFOSA (Lomé)]
1983     Semassi (Sokodé)
1984     Agaza (Lomé)
1985     ASFOSA (Lomé)
1986     ASFOSA (Lomé)
1987     Doumbé (Sansanné-Mango)
1988     ASKO (Kara)
1989     ASKO (Kara)
1990     Ifodjè (Atakpamé)
1991       no competition
1992     Etoile Filante (Lomé)
1993     Semassi (Sokodé)
1994     Semassi (Sokodé)
1995     Semassi (Sokodé)
1996     ASKO (Kara)
1997     Dynamic Togolais (Lomé)
1998       no competition
1999     Semassi (Sokodé)
2000       not finished
2001     Dynamic Togolais (Lomé)
2002     AS Douane (Lomé)
2003/04  Dynamic Togolais (Lomé)
2004/05  AS Douane (Lomé)
2005/06  Maranatha FC (Fiokpo)
2006/07  ASKO (Kara)
2008       no competition
2009     Maranatha FC (Fiokpo)
2010       no competition
2011/12  Dynamic Togolais (Lomé)
2013     Anges FC (Notsè)
2014     Semassi (Sokodé)
2015       no competition
2016/17  AS Togo-Port (Lomé)
2017/18  US Koroki Métété (Tchamba)
2018/19  ASC Kara (Kara)
2019/20  ASKO (Kara)
2021     ASKO (Kara)
2021/22  ASKO (Kara)
2022/23  ASKO (Kara)

Championships (52; since independence (April 1960)):

10 Semassi (Sokodé)

 8 ASKO (Kara)             [ASKO = Association Sportive de la Kozah]

 7 Etoile Filante (Lomé)   [also won 11 titles prior to independence]

 6 Dynamic Togolais (Lomé) [aka Dyto]

 4 Modèle (Lomé)

 3 Lomé 1

 2 Agaza (Lomé)
   ASFOSA (Lomé)
   AS Douane (Lomé)
   Maranatha FC (Fiokpo)

 1 Anges FC (Notsè)
   Doumbé (Sansanné-Mango)
   Ifodjè (Atakpamé)
   ASC Kara (Kara)
   US Koroki Métété (Tchamba)
   AS Togo-Port (Lomé)


In 1974 a sports reform ('Reform Sportive') was carried out, in which many clubs
were merged or amalgamated into large unites, in particular in Lomé where four
large 'superclubs' were formed:

Lomé 1 - amalgamation of Etoile Filante, Modèle and Dynamic Togolais; later called
         Déma Club
Lomé 2 - amalgamation of Unisport and Essor
Lomé 3 - amalgamation of Alliance, Freedom Star, Venus and Dragons; later called Edan
Lomé 4 - amalgamation of Racing Club, Réal, Hearts of Oak and US du Bénin

In 1978 these Lomé super clubs were disbanded again, as part of the 'Actualisation'
of the reform.  Most previous clubs resurfaced; in addition Entente 2 were formed 
out of Modèle (who however resurfaced themselves) and Nyékonakpoè-Kodjoviakopé.

In other towns, the larger structures remained, e.g.:
Aného          - Gbohloé-Su (previously called Elavagnon; formed out of Standard (Aného),
                             USA (Adjido) and others)
Atakpamé       - Ifodjè (formed out of CS Atakpamé and UA Atakpamé)
Kpalimé        - Gomido (formed out of Excelsior, Etoile Filante and Modèle)
Sansanné Mango - Doumbe

Prior to their 1934 championship in their first ever participation in
a senior championship, Etoile Filante (founded Feb 15, 1933) won the 
1933 'championnat de foot-ball juniors' (apparently the first ever edition).

About this document

Sources included: Lexique du football Togolais, as rendered at site of Togo FA,,

Prepared and maintained by Julio Bovi Diogo for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Julio Bovi Diogo (
Last updated: 14 Nov 2023

(C) Copyright Julio Bovi Diogo and RSSSF 1996/2023
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.