Soviet Union - List of Women Champions

Women's football was played in the Soviet Union following the 1917 October revolution (a championship had already been held in Russia as early as 1911), but forbidden by the authorities under Stalin by the late twenties. A short revival in the late sixties saw football teams (usually factory representations) playing in Moscow, Kharkov, Dnepropetrovsk, Donetsk, Kiev, Riga and Vilnius, among other cities, and a match between top sides Kharkov and Vilnius, played in Donetsk in front of 32,000 spectators, was shown live on television on November 13th, 1971 (Kharkov won 3-2). In 1972, the Valentina Tereshkova Cup was inaugurated in Dnepropetrovsk, with participants from Dnepropetrovsk, Moscow, Kiev, Donetsk, Kharkov, Riga and Uzhgorod. However, in 1973 the state sports commission forbade the participation of women in so-called "men's sports", including football. Subsequently, no women's football was played until the late eighties; in 1987 the state ban was lifted and the Sobesednik youth paper (attached to the Komsomolskaya Pravda) organised a "festival of women football", which was henceforth played annually and developed into the first official championship, held in 1990 (the qualifying competition started in 1989).
1990 Niva Baryshevka          2-1 Serp i Molot Moskva
1991 Tekstilshchik Ramenskoye 0-0 Nadezhda Mogilov    [6-5 pen]

Number of Titles (2)

 1 Niva Baryshevka	
   Tekstilshchik Ramenskoye

Russia Champions since 1992

About this document

Source for introduction: [DHL 06]

Prepared and maintained by Sergey Fadeyev for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Sergey Fadeyev
Last updated: 3 Apr 2014

(C) Copyright Sergey Fadeyev and RSSSF 2006/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.