Wales (Cup) 1877/78

First ever edition, organised by the Football Association of Wales, founded in March 1876. Druids of Ruabon (reportedly founded in 1869 as Plasmadoc) had in 1876 been the first Welsh club to enter the FA Cup.
The official name of the competition was the Welsh Football Association Challenge Cup. Nineteen clubs entered, including eleven from Wrexham and its surrounding area; two (Northwich Victoria and Oswestry) were from England, while Swansea RFC were a rugby football side which scratched after learning the tournament was played according to the association code.

NB: home teams not clear for most fixtures.

Round 1
Druids                  1-1 Newtown
Bangor                  1-0 Carnarvon
Oswestry               12-0 Chirk
Gwersyllt Foresters     0-0 Northwich Victoria
Corwen                  0-0 Bala
Newtown White Stars     1-0 Ruabon
Wrexham                 3-1 Civil Service (Wrexham)
Aberystwyth             w/o Swansea                 [Swansea withdrew after learning
Llangollen              w/o 23rd RWF                 it was not a rugby competition]
Rhosllanerchrugog       bye

NB: RWF = Royal Welch Fusiliers

Round 1 Replays
Druids                  4-0 Newtown
Gwersyllt Foresters     4-1 Northwich Victoria      [also reported 4-0]
Corwen                  0-0 Bala

Round 1 Second Replay
Corwen                  1-0 Bala

Round 2
Bangor                  7-0 Corwen                  
Druids                  3-0 Rhosllanerchrugog       
Gwersyllt Foresters     2-1 Llangollen              
Wrexham                 1-1 Oswestry                
Newtown White Stars     drw Aberystwyth             

Round 2 Replays
Wrexham                 2-0 Oswestry                
Newtown White Stars     w/o Aberystwyth             
Bangor                  bye

Round 3
Wrexham                 8-0 Gwersyllt Foresters     
Druids                  1-1 Newtown White Stars     

Round 3 Replay
Druids                  1-1 Newtown White Stars     

Round 3 Second Replay
Druids                  3-0 Newtown White Stars     

Semifinal [Racecourse, Wrexham]
Bangor                  0-0 Druids                  
Wrexham                 bye

Semifinal Replay [at Rhyl]
Druids                  1-0 Bangor                  [aet]

Final [Mar 30, Acton Park, Wrexham]
Wrexham                 1-0 Druids                  
  [James Davies 90]

1878/79 (cup).

list of champions.

list of cup finals.

About this document

Source: [Gar 93]

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 8 Jan 2015

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2014/15
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.