Wales (Cup) 1939/40

Round 1
Penrhyn Quarry          o/w Caernarvon Town
Blaenau Ffestiniog      4-0 Portmadoc
Llandudno               w/o Holyhead
Barmouth                1-4 Pwllheli                [?!; Barmouth qualified]
Caergwrle United        w/o Buckley Town
Flint Athletic          w/o Northern Nomads
Mold Alexandra          0-2 Llanerch Celts   
Cross Street Gwersyllt  w/o Druids
Gwersyllt               1-6 Bradley Rangers
Shotton Athletic        6-2 Liverpoool Druids
Llay United             3-0 Flint Town 
Rhayader                w/o Llanidloes Town
Trefechan               o/w Aberdovey
Aberystwyth Town        7-0 Aberystwyth University College
Machynlleth             w/o Welshpool
Ton Pentre              w/o Caerphilly
Round 2
Llandudno               4-1 Flint Athletic
Blaenau Ffestiniog      1-0 Caernarvon Town
Machynlleth             1-1 Rhayader
Aberystwyth Town        w/o Aberdovey  
Dolgelley               o/w Barmouth
Shotton Athletic        o/w Llanerch Celts
Bradley Rangers         1-1 Llay United             
Cross Street Gwersyllt  w/o Caergwrle United
Round 2 Replays
Machynlleth             3-1 Rhayader          
Bradley Rangers         2-1 Llay United             [to be replayed after Llay protest]
Round 2 Second Replay
Bradley Rangers         4-2 Llay United         
Round 3
Llanerch Celts          2-1 Cross Street Gwersyllt
Llandudno               8-2 Blaenau Ffestiniog                    
Aberystwyth Town        8-4 Machynlleth
Gwynfi United           bt  Nantymoel               [Nantymoel dismissed]     
Aberdare Town           1-6 Ebbw Vale
Milford United          3-5 Haverfordwest Athletic
Ton Pentre              w/o Caerau Athletic
Cardiff Corinthians     7-2 Troedrhiw               [2-7 ?]
Lovell's Athletic       4-1 Aberaman Athletic
Round 4
Rhyl                    1-4 New Brighton            
Llandudno               2-1 Bangor City
Southport               2-1 South Liverpool
Aberystwyth Town       11-1 Barmouth
Llanerch Celts          1-2 Bradley Rangers
Barry Town              3-2 Cardiff Corinthians
Gwynfi Welfare          6-1 Ton Pentre
Newport County          1-1 Lovell's Athletic
Chester                 4-2 Shrewsbury Town
Cardiff City            3-0 Ebbw Vale 
Wrexham                 1-2 Wellington Town
Hereford United         w/o Oswestry Town
Swansea Town            bt  Haverfordwest Athletic  [Haverfordwest dismissed]
Round 4 Replay
Newport County          2-0 Lovell's Athletic
Round 5
Wellington Town        10-1 Hereford United
New Brighton            4-1 Llandudno 
Swansea Town            7-2 Gwynfi Welfare
Newport County          3-2 Barry Town
Aberystwyth Town        4-3 Bradley Rangers
Chester                 1-3 Wellington Town
New Brighton            1-0 Southport
Cardiff City            1-1 Newport County
Swansea Town            2-0 Aberystwyth Town
Quarterfinal Replay
Cardiff City            0-5 Newport County  
Swansea Town            1-0 Newport County          [at Swansea]
New Brighton            0-0 Wellington Town         [at Wellington]  
Semifinal Replay
New Brighton            2-4 Wellington Town         [at Shrewsbury]  
Final [Jun 1, Gay Meadow, Shrewsbury; att: 6 000]
Wellington Town         4-0 Swansea Town



list of champions.

list of cup finals.

About this document

Sources: [Gar 93],

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 14 Jan 2016

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2015/16
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.