Belgian Congo 1959

National Championship (organised by A.R.S.C.R.U.)

NB: A.R.S.C.R.U. = Association Royale Sportive Congolaise et du Ruanda-Urundi 

Participants included:

AS Vita (Kinshasa)
FC Dragons (Mbandaka)
US Panda (Likasi)
CS Simba (Kananga)
Sporting Maniema (Bukavu)
Wairless (Usumbara (now Bujumbura, capital of Burundi))
US Centre (Kisangani)

NB: tournament not finished; note that the country obtained independence in 1960,
    whereupon the Fédération de Football d'Usumbura left the A.R.S.C.R.U. which
    was renamed A.R.S.C. (Association Royale Sportive du Congo).


1962 (Congo-Léopoldville)

list of champions

list of cup winners

About this document

Source: "Elima" (Kinshasa), 21 Jun 1973

Prepared and maintained by Barry Baker for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Barry Baker
Last updated: 16 Aug 2022

(C) Copyright Barry Baker and RSSSF 2009/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.