IFFHS' World's Best Goalkeeper of the Year 2008

Award given by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS); the election is for the calendar year.

Top 16

 1. Iker CASILLAS                     249 pts  Spain           Real Madrid (Spa)
 2. Gianluigi BUFFON                  170      Italy           Juventus (Ita)
 3. Edwin VAN DER SAR                 143      Netherlands     Manchester United (Eng)
 4. Petr CECH                         108      Czech Republic  Chelsea (Eng)
 5. Igor AKINFEEV                      23      Russia          CSKA Moskva (Rus)
 6. José Francisco CEVALLOS            21      Ecuador         LDU Quito (Ecu)
 7. JÚLIO CÉSAR Soares Espíndola       18      Brazil          Internazionale Milan (Ita)
 8. José Manuel REINA                  15      Spain           Liverpool FC (Eng)
 9. Jens LEHMANN                       13      Germany         VfB Stuttgart (Ger)
10. Justo VILLAR                       12      Paraguay        Real Valladolid (Spa)
11. Guillermo OCHOA                    10      Mexico          CF América (Mex)
    ROGÉRIO Ceni                       10      Brazil          São Paulo FC (Bra)
13. René ADLER                          9      Germany         Bayer Leverkusen (Ger)
14. Roberto ABBONDANZIERI               7      Argentina       Getafe FC (Spa)
15. Bradley FRIEDEL                     5      United States   Aston Villa (Eng)
    Vyacheslav MALAFEEV                 5      Russia          Zenit Saint-Petersburg (Rus)

overview file



About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (josepie@hotmail.com)
Last updated: 27 Aug 2010

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2009/10
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.