DR Congo (Zaire) - Katanga Champions

Competition for clubs from Katanga (a region of the current DR Congo, then part of Belgian Congo), organised by the Ligue de Football de Katanga (LFK), a 'white' organisation.

The whites-only Ligue de Football du Katanga was founded in Elisabethville (now Lubumbashi) 1911, and the 1925 edition of the local championship (called the B. Smith Cup) comprised 4 clubs (apparently this was the first official edition).

For the (known) champions of the 'black' Elisabethville Football Association (FASI, Fédérations et Associations Sportives Indigènes), see Congo-Kinshasa - Regional Champions.

A Katanga representation organised by the FASI played in a 'sub-Saharan championship 1950'.


1925    Union Minière
1926    Léopold FC
1927    Léopold FC
1928    Ramblers
1929    CFK Wanderers
1930    Léopold FC and Ramblers (shared)
1931      apparently not played
1932-33   apparently not played
1934      not known
1935      not known
1936    Ramblers
1937    Ramblers
1938    Ramblers
1939    Ramblers
1940    Jadotville FC
1941    Ramblers
1942      not played
1943      not played
1944    Collège FC
1945    Léopold FC
1946    Ramblers
1947    Jadotville FC
1948    Collège FC
1949    Jadotville FC
1950    Jadotville FC
1951-54   not known    (not Jadotville FC)
1955    Jadotville FC
1956    Jadotville FC
1957    Jadotville FC
1958    Jadotville FC
1959    Jadotville FC
1960    Jadotville FC

Number of Wins (25, of which 1 shared; 9 missing)

10 Jadotville FC

 8 Ramblers      [1 shared]

 4 Léopold FC    [1 shared]

 2 Collège FC

 1 Union Minière
   CFK Wanderers

NB: Jadotville is now called Likasi; also Union Minière and CFK Wanderers apparently
    were from Likasi while the other teams probably all were from Elizabethville, now
    called Lubumbashi.

Katanga - Coupe de la Croix Bleu 1931

Final [Jul 26, 1931]
US Jadotville                  -  Sogechim Ramblers

Katanga - Ligue de Jadotville 1934

Participating teams (7):
Union Minière

Katanga - Coupe des Brasseries du Katanga 1935

Participating teams (8):
Club Prince Charles
Club Prince Léopold

Club Prince Charles            -  Club Prince Léopold

Zaire regional champions

About this document

With thanks to Hans Schöggl

Sources: [FIF 31], [FIF 52], [Vel 01], http://www.likasi.be/Stavros/Stavros_02b.htm

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com)
Last updated: 29 Dec 2021

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler and RSSSF 2003/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.