Malaysia - List of Champions

Note that in Malaysia the league championship is a late addition to the football calendar, and its main purpose in the early years of its existence was to qualify teams for the quarterfinal stage of the more prestigious and traditional Malaysia Cup.

Until 2001 the top level only contained regional FA representations, and no club team won the championship until Darul Ta'zim FC from Johor did so in 2014.

Overview of Regional Champions and Cup Winners.

Year Champions                          Runners-Up                  Third             
Malaysian League
1982 Penang                             Federal Territory           Selangor
1983 Melaka                             Penang                      Kelantan
1984 Selangor                           Pahang                      Penang
1985 Singapore                          Johor                       Pahang
1986 Federal Territory                  Singapore                   Selangor
1987 Pahang                             Kuala Lumpur                Singapore
1988 Kuala Lumpur                       Singapore                   Kelantan
Liga Semi-Pro Divisyen 1
1989 Selangor                           Kuala Lumpur                Kedah
1990 Selangor                           Singapore                   Perak
1991 Johor                              Pahang                      Perak  
1992 Pahang                             Terengganu                  Negeri Sembilan
1993 Kedah                              Sarawak                     Perak
Liga Perdana
1994 Singapore                          Kedah                       Sarawak
1995 Pahang                             Selangor                    Sarawak
1996 Sabah                              Kedah                       Negeri Sembilan
1997 Sarawak                            Kedah                       Sabah
Liga Perdana 1
1998 Penang                             Pahang                      Brunei
1999 Pahang                             Penang                      Negeri Sembilan
2000 Selangor                           Penang                      Perak
2001 Penang                             Terengganu                  Kelantan
2002 Perak                              Selangor                    Sabah
2003 Perak                              Kedah                       Perlis
Malaysia Super League
2004 Pahang                             Selangor Public Bank        Perlis
2005 Perlis                             Pahang                      Perak
2006 Negeri Sembilan                    Melaka Telekom              Perak
2007 Kedah                              Perak                       DPMM Brunei
2008 Kedah                              Negeri Sembilan             Johor FC
2009 Selangor                           Perlis                      Kedah
2010 Selangor                           Kelantan                    Terengganu
2011 Kelantan                           Terengganu                  Selangor    
2012 Kelantan                           Lions XII (Singapore)       Selangor
2013 Lions XII (Singapore)              Selangor                    Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)
2014 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Selangor                    Pahang
2015 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Pahang                      Selangor
2016 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Felda United FC             Kedah
2017 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Pahang FC                   Felda United FC          
2018 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Perak                       PKNS FC (Selangor)   
2019 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Pahang FC                   Selangor
2020 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Kedah                       Terengganu FC
2021 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Kedah Darul Aman FC         Penang FC    
2022 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)            Terengganu FC               Sabah FC  
2023 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)    

Number of Titles (42)

10 Darul Ta'zim FC (Johor)

 6 Selangor

 5 Pahang
 3 Kedah

 2 Kuala Lumpur (includes Federal Territory)

 1 Johor
   Lions XII (Singapore)
   Negeri Sembilan

Overview of Regional Champions and Cup Winners.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 27 Sep 2023

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2001/23
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.