Syria 1961

Syrian Cup 1961

NB: started on Apr 7; contested between 16 clubs:

Northern Zone
   Al-Ahly (Aleppo)
   Al-Jadid (Aleppo)
   Al-Sahel (Tartous)
   Al-Rafidain (Hasaka)
   Al-Shahbaa (Aleppo)
   Al-Souri (Aleppo)
   Jalaa SC (Aleppo)
   Jableh SC
Southern Zone
   Al-Ahly (Damascus)
   Al-Fida (Homs)
   Al-Nahda (Damascus)
   Al-Nejma (Homs)
   Al-Shabab (Damascus)
   Al-Shabab (Sweida)
   Al-Souri (Damascus)
   Barada SC (Damascus)

1/8 Finals
Northern Zone
Jalaa SC              1-0 Jableh SC
Al-Rafidain           2-1 Al-Shahbaa
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      2-2 Al-Jadid 
Al-Souri (Aleppo)     1-0 Al-Sahel
Southern Zone
Al-Nahda              2-0 Al-Nejma 
Al-Souri (Damascus)   1-0 Al-Shabab (Sweida) 
Al-Ahly (Damascus)    5-0 Al-Shabab (Damascus) 
Barada SC             3-0 Al-Fida 

1/8 Final Replay Northern Zone
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      3-2 Al-Jadid 

Northern Zone
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      2-1 Jalaa SC 
Al-Souri (Aleppo)     5-2 Al-Rafidain
Southern Zone
Barada SC             1-1 Al-Nahda 
Al-Ahly (Damascus)    7-1 Al-Souri (Damascus) 

Quarterfinal Replay Southern Zone
Barada SC             2-1 Al-Nahda

Northern Zone
Al-Ahly (Aleppo)      1-0 Al-Souri (Aleppo)
Southern Zone
Al-Ahly (Damascus)    2-2 Barada SC 

Semifinal Replay Southern Zone
Al-Ahly (Damascus)    6-0 Barada SC 

Final [May 5, Damascus]
Al-Ahly (Damascus)    2-0 Al-Ahly (Aleppo) 
  [Khaled el-Dirani 18, Ezzat Qarsai 83]
  [Ahly (Damascus): Mahmoud Rizk; Bashar Shakour, Philippe al-Chayeb,
     Ali Rashdam, Ahmad Zarzoor; Hassan Nabhani, Khaled el-Dirani,
     Ezzat Qarsai; Ibrahim Moghrabi, Abdulqader Jurban, Adil al-Turki]
  [ref: Arwant Ohanessian]
  [spectators included Abdelhamid al-Sarraj, president of the Syrian
   Executive Council]

NB: both finalists qualified for the United Arab Republic championship 1960/61.


1961 UAR championship

Egypt 1960/61


list of champions

list of cup winners

About this document

Source: [Kar 16]

Prepared and maintained by Mahmoud Karkora for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Mahmoud Karkora
Last updated: 23 Jun 2021

(C) Copyright Mahmoud Karkora and RSSSF 2018/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.