United Arab Republic 1960/61

During the 1958-1961 union of Egypt and Syria as the United Arab Republic,
one football tournament was played between clubs from the two countries.

It involved the 1961 cup finalists of both:
  Al-Ahly (Cairo)    (1960/61 Egypt cup winners)
  Qanah (Suez)       (1960/61 Egypt cup runners-up)
  Al-Ahly (Damascus) (1961 Syria cup winners)
  Al-Ahly (Aleppo)   (1961 Syria cup runners-up)

Semifinals [May 19, 1961]
Al-Ahly (Cairo)      5-0 Al-Ahly (Aleppo)
  [Karam, Taha Ismail (2), Saleh Selim (2)]
Al-Ahly (Damascus)   2-1 Qanah (Suez)   

Final [Jun 2, 1961]
Al-Ahly (Cairo)      4-1 Al-Ahly (Damascus) 
  [Mimi El-Sherbini 13, Taha Ismail 20, 21, Saleh Selim 89; Ibrahim Moghrabi 82]
  [AHC: Adel Heikal; Karam, Said, Foad Abou Ghida, Tarek Selim;
        Rifaat El-Fanageely, Awadain, Anwar Saleh; Taha Ismail,
        Mimi El-Sherbini, Saleh Selim;
   AHD: Mahmoud Rizk; Bashar Shakour, Philippe al-Chayeb, Ali Rashdam,
        Ahmad Zarzoor; Banhati, Khaled el-Dirani, Ezzat Qarsai;
        Ibrahim Moghrabi, Youssef Mahmoud, Honayen]

list of champions (Egypt)

list of cup winners (Egypt)

list of champions (Syria)

list of cup winners (Syria)

About this document

Thanks to Davide Angelini for additional information

Source: Egyptian Football Net

Prepared and maintained by Tarek Said for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Tarek Said
Last updated: 30 Jul 2020

(C) Copyright Tarek Said and RSSSF 2014/20
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.