Georgia - List of Champions

It is not known whether organised football was played in the period 1918-1921, when Georgia was independent; at least one match was played in 1920, FC Zestaponi beating a British Military XI 2-1; Zestaponi also entered the first championship as Soviet Socialist Republic in 1927. A local league in Tbilisi was held in three consecutive seasons between 1912 and 1914; all three editions were won by the team from the second gymnasium (2. Gimnaziya).
as Georgian SSR
NB: note that in most seasons, the best Georgian clubs did not play at the republic level,
    which in later seasons corresponded to the 3rd or 4th tier of the ´football pyramid of
    the Soviet Union

Year    Champion                            Runners-Up                          Third

1927    Batumi XI
1928    Tbilisi XI
1929-35   not played
1936    ZII Tbilisi                         Dinamo Sokhumi                      Dinamo Batumi      
1937    Lokomotivi Tbilisi                  ZII Tbilisi                    
1938    Dinamo Batumi                       Burevestnik Tbilisi                 Nauka Tbilisi
1939    Nauka Tbilisi                       Kolkheti Poti                       Dinamo Kutaisi
1940    Dinamo Batumi                       ODKA Tbilisi
1941-42   not played
1943    ODKA Tbilisi                        Lokomotivi Tbilisi                  Dinamo Kutaisi
1944      not played
1945    Lokomotivi Tbilisi
1946    Dinamo Kutaisi                      Dinamo Batumi                       Makharadze XI
1947    Dinamo Sokhumi                      Dinamo Kutaisi                      Dinamo Batumi      
1948    Dinamo Sokhumi                      Dinamo Kutaisi                      Dinamo Batumi
1949    Torpedo Kutaisi                     Khashuri XI                         Dinamo Batumi
1950    TODO Tbilisi                        TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Kutaisi
1951    TODO Tbilisi                        TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Zugdidi
1952    TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Kutaisi                      Dinamo Batumi
1953    TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Batumi                       Dinamo Kutaisi
1954    TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Batumi                       Dinamo Kutaisi
1955    Dinamo Kutaisi                      TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Sokhumi
1956    Lokomotivi Tbilisi                  TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Kutaisi
1957    TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Kutaisi                      Kolmeurne Kobuleti
1958    TTU Tbilisi                         Dinamo Kutaisi                      Kolmeurne Makharadze
1959    Metalurgi Rustavi                   Dinamo Batumi                       Kolmeurne Lanchuti
1960    Imereti Kutaisi                     Guria Lanchkhuti                    Meshakhte Tkibuli 
1961    Guria Lanchkhuti                    Lokomotivi Samtredia                Imereti Kutaisi   
1962    Imereti Kutaisi                     Sinatle Tbilisi                     Meshakhte Tkibuli   
1963    Imereti Kutaisi                     SGHI Tbilisi                        Meshakhte Tkibuli
1964    IngurGES Zugdidi                    Dila Gori                           Marchali Maharadze
1965    Tolia Tbilisi                       Dila Gori                           Shukura Kobuleti
1966    Guria Lanchkhuti                    Shukura Kobuleti                    Marchali Maharadze
1967    Mertskhali Makharadze               Marchali Maharadze                  Kolmeurne Tsalendzikha
1968    SKA Tbilisi                         SKIF Tbilisi                        Kolkheti Chakaa
1969    Sulori Vani                         Sinatle Tbilisi                     Kolkheti Chakaa 
1970    SKIF Tbilisi                        Metallurg Zestafoni                 Lokomotivi Samtredia
1971    Guria Lanchkhuti                    Lokomotivi Samtredia                Sinatle Tbilisi
1972    Lokomotivi Samtredia                Meshakhte Tkibuli                   Dinamo Zugdidi
1973    Dinamo Zugdidi                      Metalurgi Rustavi                   SKA Tbilisi
1974    Metalurgi Rustavi                   Magaroeli Chiatura                  Salkhino Gegechkori
1975    Magaroeli Chiatura                  Dinamo Sokhumi                      Salkhino Gegechkori
1976    SKIF Tbilisi                        Meshakhte Tkibuli                   Nadikvari Telavi     
1977    Mziuri Gali                         Magaroeli Chiatura                  Meshakhte Tkibuli
1978    Kolkheti Poti                       Meshakhte Tkibuli                   Metalurgi Rustavi
1979    Metalurgi Rustavi                   Mziuri Gali                         Meshakhte Tkibuli
1980    Meshakhte Tkibuli                   Sulori Vani                         Mziuri Gali
1981    Meshakhte Tkibuli                   Dinamo Zugdidi                      Spartak Tbilisi     
1982    Mertskhali Makharadze               Metallurg Zestafoni                 Sulori Vani
1983    Samgurali Tskaltubo                Sulori Vani                         Metalurgi Rustavi
1984    Metalurgi Rustavi                   Sulori Vani                         Madneuli Bolnisi
1985    Shadrevani-83 Tskaltubo            Metalurgi Rustavi                   Shevardeni Tbilisi    
1986    Shevardeni Tbilisi                  Shadrevani-83 Tskaltubo            Samegrelo Chkhorotsku
1987    Mertskhali Makharadze               Kolkheti Khobi                      Shevardeni Tbilisi
1988    Kolkheti Poti                       Sulori Vani                         Dinamo Zugdidi
1989    Shadrevani-83 Tskaltubo            Dinamo Zugdidi                      Amirani Ochamchire

as independent championship
1990    Iberia Tbilisi
1991    Iberia Tbilisi
1991/92 Iberia-Dinamo Tbilisi
1992/93 Dinamo Tbilisi
1993/94 Dinamo Tbilisi
1994/95 Dinamo Tbilisi
1995/96 Dinamo Tbilisi
1996/97 Dinamo Tbilisi
1997/98 Dinamo Tbilisi
1998/99 Dinamo Tbilisi
1999/00 Torpedo Kutaisi
2000/01 Torpedo Kutaisi
2001/02 Torpedo Kutaisi
2002/03 Dinamo Tbilisi
2003/04 WIT Georgia Tbilisi
2004/05 Dinamo Tbilisi
2005/06 Sioni Bolnisi
2006/07 Olimpi Rustavi
2007/08 Dinamo Tbilisi
2008/09 WIT Georgia Tbilisi
2009/10 Olimpi Rustavi
2010/11 FK Zestaponi   
2011/12 FK Zestaponi   
2012/13 Dinamo Tbilisi
2013/14 Dinamo Tbilisi
2014/15 Dila Gori
2015/16 Dinamo Tbilisi
2016    FK Samtredia
2017    Torpedo Kutaisi
2018    Saburtalo Tbilisi
2019    Dinamo Tbilisi
2020    Dinamo Tbilisi
2021    Dinamo Batumi
2022    Dinamo Tbilisi
2023    Dinamo Batumi

Number of Titles (35; since 1990)
19 Dinamo Tbilisi (includes Iberia)

 4 Torpedo Kutaisi

 2 Dinamo Batumi
   Olimpi Rustavi
   WIT Georgia Tbilisi
   FK Zestaponi  

 1 Dila Gori
   Saburtalo Tbilisi
   FK Samtredia
   Sioni Bolnisi 

About this document

Many thanks to Archil Akhalkatsishvili for spelling corrections

Prepared and maintained by Erlan Manaschev, Hans Schöggl and Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Erlan Manaschev, Hans Schöggl and Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 11 Feb 2024

(C) Copyright Erlan Manaschev, Hans Schöggl, Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 1996/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.