India - List of National Champions

In India, the first football match was organised between 'Calcutta Club of Civilians' and the 'Gentlemen of Barrackpore', in 1854.
1996/97 JCT Mills 
1997/98 Mohun Bagan AC 
1998/99 Salgaocar SC 
1999/00 Mohun Bagan AC  
2000/01 East Bengal Club
2001/02 Mohun Bagan AC  
2002/03 East Bengal Club
2003/04 East Bengal Club
2004/05 Dempo SC
2005/06 Mahindra United
2006/07 Dempo SC
2007/08 Dempo SC
2008/09 Churchill Brothers SC
2009/10 Dempo SC
2010/11 Salgaocar SC 
2011/12 Dempo SC 
2012/13 Churchill Brothers SC
2013/14 Bengaluru FC
2015    Mohun Bagan AC  
2016    Bengaluru FC
2017    Aizawl FC
2017/18 Minerva Punjab FC
2018/19 Chennai City FC
2019/20 Mohun Bagan AC  
2020/21 Gokulam Kerala FC
2021/22 Gokulam Kerala FC
NB: as of the 2022/23 season, the I-League is a second tier league below the
    ISL (Indian Super League)

Number of Wins (26 (10 NFL; 16 I-League)):

 5 Dempo SC (Goa)                 [1 NFL; 4 I-League]
   Mohun Bagan AC (Kolkata)       [3 NFL; 2 I-League]  [merged 2020 into ATK Mohun Bagan]

 3 East Bengal Club (Kolkata)     [3 NFL]

 2 Bengaluru FC (Bangalore)              [2 I-League]
   Churchill Brothers SC (Goa)           [2 I-League]
   Gokulam Kerala FC (Kozhikode)         [2 I-League]
   Salgaocar SC (Goa)             [1 NFL; 1 I-League]

 1 Aizawl FC (Aizawl)                    [1 I-League]
   Chennai City FC (Chennai)             [1 I-League]
   JCT Mills (Phagwara)           [1 NFL]
   Mahindra United (Mumbai)       [1 NFL]
   Minerva Punjab FC (Chandigarh)        [1 I-League]


NB: franchise league set up as alternative to the I-league, with which it
    shared top level status between 2014 and 2022

2014    Atlético de Kolkata 
2015    Chennaiyin FC      
2016    Atlético de Kolkata 
2017/18 Chennaiyin FC       
2018/19 Bengaluru FC
2019/20 Atlético de Kolkata 
2020/21 Mumbai City FC
2021/22 Hyderabad FC
2022/23 ATK Mohun Bagan 
2023/24 Mumbai City FC

Number of Wins (10):

 3 Atlético de Kolkata (Kolkata)                       [merged 2020 into ATK Mohun Bagan]

 2 Chennaiyin FC (Chennai) 
   Mumbai City FC (Mumbai)

 1 ATK Mohun Bagan (Kolkata)                           [Mohun Bagan AC won I-league five times]
   Bengaluru FC (Bangalore)                            [also won I-league twice]
   Hyderabad FC

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Atsushi Fujioka and Arunava Chaudhuri for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Atsushi Fujioka and Arunava Chaudhuri
Last updated: 4 May 2024

(C) Copyright Atsushi Fujioka, Arunava Chaudhuri and RSSSF 2000/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.