Chad - List of Champions

The national championship is normally decided in a playoff between up to 18 regional champions, who first enter various zonal tournaments before the national stage; zone 6 consists of the regions Logone Oriental, Mandoul and Moyen-Chari; however, in various seasons this playoff did not take place and the regional winners of Chari Baguirmi (which includes the capital N'Djaména) were considered national champions.
1961/62 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1962-64   unknown
1964/65 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1965/66 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1966-71   unknown
1971/72 Yal Club (N'Djaména)
1972/73 Yal Club (N'Djaména)
1973-78   unknown
1978-86   not played
1986/87   unknown
1987/88 Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)  [*1]
1988/89 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1989/90 Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)
1990/91 FC Tourbillon (N'Djaména)
1991/92 Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)
1992/93 Postel 2000 (N'Djaména)
1993/94 Renaissance (Abéché)
1994/95 Postel 2000 (N'Djaména)
1995/96 AS Coton Chad (N'Djaména)
1996/97 FC Tourbillon (N'Djaména)
1997/98 AS Coton Chad (N'Djaména)
1998/99 Renaissance (Abéché)
1999/00 FC Tourbillon (N'Djaména)
2000/01 FC Tourbillon (N'Djaména)
2001/02   unknown                               [runners-up: Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)]
2002/03   unknown
2003/04   not held
2005    Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
2006    Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
2007    Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
2008    Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)
2009/10 Gazelle FC (N'Djaména)
2010      not held  (Tourbillon FC   Chari Baguirmi champions)
2011      not held  (Foullah Edifice Chari Baguirmi champions)
2012      not held  (Gazelle FC      Chari Baguirmi champions)
2013    Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
2014      not held  (Foullah Edifice Chari Baguirmi champions)
2014/15 Gazelle FC (N'Djaména)
2016      abandoned (Tourbillon FC   Chari Baguirmi champions)
2017      abandoned
2018    Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)
2019    Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)
2020    Gazelle FC (N'Djaména) 
2021      not held
2022    Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména)
2023    AS PSI (N'Djaména)

NB: several of the champions above presumably refer to winners of the Ligue de 
      Chari Baguirmi (N'Djaména regional league) rather than a national league;
    the 2013 edition was reported as the third but that cannot be correct

[*1] a story on suggests that Tout-puissant 
     Elect Sports won the final for the Ligue de Chari Baguirmi (N'Djaména regional 
     league) against Renaissance 1-0 on Saturday, July 30, 1988 thanks to a last
     minute header.

Number of Titles (31 known)

 7 Tout-puissant Elect Sports (N'Djaména) 

 6 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)   [*1]

 4 FC Tourbillon (N'Djaména)

 3 AS Coton Chad (N'Djaména)
   Gazelle FC (N'Djaména)       [*2]

 2 Postel 2000 (N'Djaména) 
   Renaissance (Abéché) 
   Yal Club (N'Djaména)

 1 Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
   AS PSI (N'Djaména)           [PSI = Pan Sahel Initiative]

[*1] Renaissance FC (N'Djaména) reportedly won 6 championships in total
     (up to 2010)
[*2] Gazelle FC (N'Djaména) claim two titles (2009 and 2012; the latter can only
     refer to the Ligue de Chari Baguirmi) and seven runners-up finishes (1975,
     1976, 1977, 1982, 1984, 2003 and 2010), presumably all referring to the
     Ligue de Chari Baguirmi

List of Chari Baguirmi Champions

1962/63 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1963/64 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1964-67   not known
1967/68 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1968-81   not known
1981/82 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1982/83 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1983-88   not known
1988/89 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)              [undefeated]
1989-94   not known
1994/95   not known                             [runners-up: Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)]
1994-98   not known
1998/99 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
1999-01   not known
2001/02 Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
2002    Faucon FC (N'Djaména)
2003    Renaissance FC (N'Djaména)
2004    Tourbillon FC (N'Djaména)
2005-07   not known
2008    Tout-puissaint Elect Sport (N'Djaména)
2009    Gazelle FC (N'Djaména)
2010    Tourbillon FC (N'Djaména)
2011    Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
2012    Gazelle FC (N'Djaména)
2013    Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
2014    Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
2015   not held
2016    Tourbillon FC (N'Djaména)
2017      not known
2018      not known
2019    AS Coton Chad (N'Djaména)
2020    Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
2021      abandoned?
2022    Foullah Edifice (N'Djaména)
2023    Tout-puissaint Elect-Sport FC (N'Djaména)
2024    AS PSI (N'Djaména)

About this document

Sources included:, AS Renaissance FC

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 27 May 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1998/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.