Zanzibar - List of Cup Winners

Nyerere Cup (Mainland and Zanzibar)

1974    JKU (Zanzibar)               
1975    Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)    [aka Yanga]
1976    Rangers International (Dar-es-Salaam)
1977    KMKM (Zanzibar)
1978    Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1979    Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1980    Coastal Union (Tanga)
1981    Pan African SC (Datr-es-Salaam)
1982    KMKM (Zanzibar)
1983    KMKM (Zanzibar)
1984    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1985    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
1986    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
1987    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
1988    Coastal Union (Tanga)
1989    Pamba FC (Mwanza)
1990    Small Simba SC (Zanzibar)
1991    Railways SC (Morogoro)
1992    Pamba FC (Mwanza)                2-1 Morogori Tumabaku
1993    Malindi SC (Zanzibar)
1994    Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1995    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1996    Sigara (Dar-es-Salaam)      
1997    Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)   1-0 Mlandege (Zanzibar)
1998    Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)   2-1 Prisons (Mbeya)
1999    Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2000    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2001    Polisi (Zanzibar)                2-0 Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)    
2002    JKT Ruvu Stars (Coast Region)    1-0 KMKM (Zanzibar)

Number of Wins (29)

 3 KMKM (Zanzibar)
   Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
   Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
   Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
   Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam) [aka Yanga]

 2 Coastal Union (Tanga)
   Pamba FC (Mwanza)
   Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)

 1 JKT Ruvu Stars (Coast Region) 
   JKU (Zanzibar) [aka Jeshi]
   Malindi SC (Zanzibar)
   Polisi (Zanzibar)           
   Railways SC (Morogoro) [aka Reli]
   Rangers International (Dar-es-Salaam)
   Sigara (Dar-es-Salaam) [aka Kashimulo]
   Small Simba SC (Zanzibar)

FA of Zanzibar Cup

First edition 1926; it was contested by 9 clubs, all from Zanzibar town.

1926    Mnasi Moja                       1-0 New Kings
1931    Public Works Department (PWD) 
1994    Malindi
1998    Jamhuri (Pemba)                  2-1 Shangani SC
2001    Polisi                           bt  Miembeni SC 
2002    KMKM 

2019    Malindi                          0-0 JKU                              [4-2 pen]
2020      apparently abandoned
2021    Mafunzo                          1-1 KVZ                              [4-3 pen]
2022    Kipanga                          1-0 Chipukizi
2023    JKU                              2-0 Chipukizi

NB: editions in the late 1920s dominated by New Kings, Caddies and Comorians.

Community Shield ("Ngao ya Jamii")

2021    Mafunzo                          2-1 KMKM

Mapinduzi Cup

2004    Young Africans (Dar-es-Salaam)   2-1 Mtibwa Sugar SC (Turiani)
2005    Mafunzo SC (Zanzibar)            2-0 JKU SC (Zanzibar)
2006      apparently not held
2007    Malindi SC (Zanzibar)            2-0 Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
2008    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)           2-1 Polisi SC (Zanzibar)
2009      apparently not held
2010    Mtibwa Sugar SC (Turiani)        1-0 Ocean View (Zanzibar)
2011    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         2-0 Young Africans (Dar-es-Salaam)
2012    Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)          3-1 Jamhuri SC (Pemba)
2013    Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)          2-1 Tusker FC (Nairobi)              [aet]
2014    Kampala City Council             1-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2015    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         0-0 Mtibwa Sugar SC (Turiani)        [aet, 4-3 pen]
2016    Uganda Revenue Auth. (Kampala)   3-1 Mtibwa Sugar SC (Turiani)
2017    Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)          1-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2018    Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)          0-0 Uganda Revenue Auth. (Kampala)   [4-3 pen]
2019    Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)          2-1 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2020    Mtibwa Sugar SC (Turiani)        1-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2021    Young Africans (Dar-es-Salaam)   0-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         [4-3 pen]
2022    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         1-0 Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2023    Mlandege FC (Zanzibar)           2-1 Singida Big Stars
2024    Mlandege FC (Zanzibar)           1-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)

NB: Mapinduzi means revolution; final played on or around Zanzibar's revolution day (Jan 12);
    the first edition in 2004, to commemorate the 40th anniversary of that revolution, was
    played between four clubs from both Zanzibar and Tanzania Mainland immediately after the
    abandonment of the 2003 edition of the Union League (the combined championship of Tanzania
    Mainland (formerly known as Tanganyika) and Zanzibar), which was subsequently abolished; 
    apart from clubs from Kenya and Uganda, also teams from Burundi, Rwanda and South Sudan
    have entered some editions.

Number of Wins (19; since 2004; lost finals between square brackets)

 5 [ 1] Azam FC (Dar-es-Salaam)             [Tanzania]

 3 [ 6] Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)            [Tanzania]

 2 [ 3] Mtibwa Sugar SC (Turiani)           [Tanzania]
 2 [ 1] Young Africans (Dar-es-Salaam)      [Tanzania]
 2      Mlandege FC (Zanzibar)              [Zanzibar]

 1 [ 1] Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)              [Zanzibar]
 1 [ 1] Uganda Revenue Authority (Kampala)  [Uganda]
 1      Kampala City Council (Kampala)      [Uganda]
 1      Mafunzo SC (Zanzibar)               [Zanzibar]
 1      Malindi SC (Zanzibar)               [Zanzibar]

   [ 1] Jamhuri SC (Pemba)                  [Zanzibar]
   [ 1] JKU SC (Zanzibar)                   [Zanzibar]
   [ 1] Ocean View (Zanzibar)               [Zanzibar]
   [ 1] Polisi SC (Zanzibar)                [Zanzibar]
   [ 1] Singida Big Stars (Singida)         [Tanzania]
   [ 1] Tusker FC (Nairobi)                 [Kenya]

By country:

12 [12] Tanzania

 5 [ 5] Zanzibar

 2 [ 1] Uganda

   [ 1] Kenya

Darugar Cup

First ever played Zanzibar cup tournament; the edition of 1924 with 10
participating clubs was the first.

1924    Mnasi Moja                   0-0 1-0 Caddies        [first match aet]

NB: editions in the late twenties dominated by New Kings, Caddies and 

Samachar Cup

1924    Mnasi Moja                   drw 1-0 Caddies 

NB: editions in the late twenties dominated by New Kings, Caddies and 

Kettles-Roy/Ziegler Cup

1943    Kikwajuni SC
1949    Arab SC 

NB: Arab SC were a merger of Caddies, New Generation and New Kings.

Jinnah Cup

1949    Arab SC
1952    Miembeni SC

Rankine Cup

1950    Malindi SC
1952    Miembeni SC

Crofton Cup

For the rural teams of all parts of the islands; first edition in
1931 but no winners known.

About this document

Main source: Laura Fair, "Kickin' it : leisure, politics and football in colonial Zanzibar, 1900s-1950s", in magazine: Africa, 1997

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 28 May 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2004/24
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.