South Sudan - List of Champions and Cup Winners

In Southern Sudan, the growth of football was linked with Christian missionaries who entered South Sudan in the early 1900s following the destruction of the Mahdist regime.
Football was played at the Church Missionary Society's first Southern mission site at Malek and at Yei, where African and non-African participants competed. The Nugent missionary school in Loka dominated football in the region during the colonial years; a team from the Nugent School travelled to Juba in 1937, defeating a "United Juba team" 2-0. In 1945 the Nugent School remained unbeaten in matches against Yei Town, Church Missionary Society (CMS) Yei, R.A.F., and Juba (three times) before reaching the 1949 final for the Governor's Cup.

List of Champions

Year    Winners                      Runners-Up
2011/12 Salaam FC (Wau)  
2013    Atlabara FC (Juba)
2014    Al-Malakia FC (Juba)         [possibly as winners of South Sudan Cup]
2015    Atlabara FC (Juba)       1-0 Al-Ghazal FC (Wau)
2016      not held
2017    Salaam FC (Wau)          2-1 Kator FC (Juba)  
2018    Al-Hilal FC (Wau)        1-1 Al-Merikh FC (Juba)      [6-5 pen]
2019    Atlabara FC (Juba)           Al-Hilal FC (Wau)
2020      not held
2021      not held
2022      not held
2023    Salaam FC (Bor)              El-Merriekh (Bentiu)  

Number of Titles (8)

 3 Atlabara FC (Juba)

 2 Salaam FC (Wau)  

 1 Al-Hilal FC (Wau)
   Al-Malakia FC (Juba)
   Salaam FC (Bor)     

South Sudan Cup

2012    Al-Malakia FC (Juba)     2-0 Al-Salam (Wau)
2013    El-Nasir FC (Juba)       2-1 El-Meriekh (Renk)
2014    Al-Malakia FC (Juba)     1-0 Al-Ghazal FC (Wau)
2015      not held (instead the MTN Cup was played)
2016    Al-Salam (Wau)           3-0 Young Stars (Torit)
2017    Al-Salam (Wau)           2-2 Al-Hilal (Juba)          [5-4 pen]
2018    Al-Merikh FC (Juba)      2-0 Al-Ghazal FC (Wau)
2019    Amarat United FC (Juba) 12-0 Jil Salam FC (Malakal)  
2020    Al-Rabita FC (Juba)      2-0 Nile City FC (Yambio)  
2021    Atlabara FC (Juba)       2-0 Salam FC (Kuajok)
2022    Al-Hilal FC (Wau)        2-0 Zalan FC (Rumbek)
2023    Al-Merikh FC (Juba)      2-0 Nujum al-Souma (Renk)     

NB: the 2012 edition was the first; the 2019 edition was reported as the eighth,
    suggesting the 2015 MTN Cup is considered part of the series as well; on the
    other hand, the 2023 edition was reported as the eleventh, implying the 2015
    tournament is not to be included.

Number of Wins (11; lost finals between square brackets)

 2 [ 1] Al-Salam (Wau)
 2      Al-Malakia FC (Juba)
 2      Al-Merikh FC (Juba)

 1      Amarat United FC (Juba) 
 1      Atlabara FC (Juba) 
 1      Al-Hilal FC (Wau)
 1      El-Nasir FC (Juba)
 1      Al-Rabita FC (Juba)  

   [ 2] Al-Ghazal FC (Wau)
   [ 1] Al-Hilal (Juba)
   [ 1] Jil Salam FC (Malakal)
   [ 1] El-Meriekh (Renk)
   [ 1] Nile City FC (Yambio)
   [ 1] Nujum al-Souma (Renk) 
   [ 1] Salam FC (Kuajok)
   [ 1] Young Stars (Torit)
   [ 1] Zalan FC (Rumbek)

South Sudan Super Cup

2022    Zalan FC (Rumbek)        0-0 Al-Hilal FC (Wau)        [4-3 pen]

NB: the 2022 edition was the first

Independence Cup

2011    Al-Malakia FC (Juba)     1-1 Atlabara FC (Juba)       [aet, Malakia on pen]
2013    Al-Malakia FC (Juba)     1-0 Atlabara FC (Juba) 


NB: entrants determined by public vote

2015    Al-Malakia FC (Juba)     1-1 Atlabara FC (Juba)       [5-4 pen]

South Sudan - List of Regional Champions

About this document

Source for introduction: [Tou 18]

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 23 Nov 2023

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2016/23
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.