USA and Canada Soccer Leagues 1894-Present

About this document

The American Soccer History Archives are a comprehensive repository of information, statistics and essays relating to all aspects of the history of soccer in the United States from the 1860's to the present. The purpose of this archive is two-fold: First, it provides a central repository of historical and statistical information for researchers, journalists, and soccer fans.

Secondly, with the enormous growth of interest and participation in American soccer, it is important to remind the world that the USA is not a newcomer to the sport, but in fact has a rich heritage of soccer that is among the oldest in the world. This archive is here to allow people to connect with soccer's past even as we look to its future, and to fill in many of the gaps in the existing body of historical knowledge.

This archive is always welcoming new information relating to the history of soccer in the USA and Canada. Please contact Dave Litterer at if you have any contributions to offer.


  • Chronological Overview of all Leagues champions

  • Professional First Division Champions
  • All League Champions
  • NCAA Champions, Division One-Three, Men/Women

  • Complete Overview of all Cup Winners

  • Topscorers Overview

  • Men's National Team - all-time results 1885-present

  • Women's National Team - all-time results 1885-present

  • All-Time Topscorers Overview

  • Club Grand List, 1894-2010: A-G | H-M | O-Z An alphabetical (by city) list of every pro USA/Canada team 1894-2010. Includes leagues, years of operation, name/affiliation changes and relocations.

  • An Overview of American Men Soccer History
  • An Overview of American Women Soccer History
  • A History of US Indoor Soccer (by Steve Holroyd)

  • American League of Professional Football (1894)
  • American Professional Soccer League (A-League) (1990-1996)
  • American Soccer League III (1988-1989)
  • Western Soccer Alliance (1985-1989)
  • American Soccer League I (1921-1933)
  • American Soccer League II (1934-1983)
  • New England Division - ASL II (1933-1941,51-53)
  • Canadian National Challenge Cup (1913-1997)
  • Canadian National Soccer League (1927-1997)
  • Canadian Professional Soccer League (1983)
  • Canadian Professional Soccer League II (1998-2005)
  • Canadian Soccer League I (1987-1992)
  • Canadian Soccer League II (2006- )
  • Continental Indoor Soccer League (Indoor) (1993-1997)
  • Continental Indoor Soccer League - all results (courtesy of Julio Bovi Diogo)
  • Eastern Canada Professional Soccer League (1961-1966)
  • D2-Pro League (USSF) (2010)
  • Eastern Indoor Soccer League (Indoor) (1997-1998)
  • Eastern Professional Soccer Conference (1964-1965)
  • Eastern Professional Soccer League I (1909-1910)
  • Eastern Professional Soccer League II (1928)
  • International Soccer League I (1926)
  • International Soccer League II (1960-1965)
  • Lone Star Soccer Alliance (1987-1992)
  • Major Indoor Soccer League (Indoor) I (1978-1992)
  • Major Indoor Soccer League (Indoor) II (1984-2008)
  • American Indoor Soccer Association (1984-1990)
  • National Professional Soccer League (1991-2001)
  • Major Indoor Soccer League (Indoor) III (2009- )
  • National indoor Soccer League (2008-2009)
  • Major League Soccer (1996- )
  • National Association Foot Ball League (1906-1921)
  • North American Soccer Football League (1946-1947)
  • North American Soccer League I and predecessors (1967-1984)
  • North American Soccer League I (merger of USA and NPSL (1968-1984)
  • United Soccer Association (1967)
  • National Professional Soccer League (1967)
  • North American Soccer League II (2011- )
  • National Premier Soccer League (2003- )
  • National Womens Soccer League (2013- )
  • Premier Soccer Alliance (1998)
  • St. Louis Soccer League (1891-1953)
  • Southern New England Soccer League (1914-1921)
  • United Soccer League (1984-1985)
  • United Soccer League (USL - earlier USISL) (1986- )
  • USL W-League (Women) (1995- )
  • Western Soccer League (1980-1982)
  • World Indoor Soccer League (1999-2001)
  • Womens Premier Soccer League (1998- )
  • Womens Professional Soccer (2009-2011)
  • Womens United Soccer Association (2001-2003)
  • This list does not include semipro leagues such as the Cosmopolitan (German-American) Soccer League or the Northwestern Senior League.

    *    The ASL III and the WSA merged in 1990 to form the American Professional Soccer League.
         The APSL was renamed the A-League in 1995.
    **   Called the American Indoor Soccer Association (AISA) from 1984-1990.
    ***  The ASL II and the WSL merged in 1984 to form the United Soccer League.
    **** The USA and NPSL merged to form the NASL in 1968.
    Note:  The NASL also played an indoor season from 1979-1984, + indoor
           exhibitions from 1975-1976.

    Special report from Colin Jose: Dispelling the Myth of British Pros in the 1930 USA World Cup Team.

    History of Canadian Soccer - by Colin Jose.

    About this document

    This document has been maintained since 1995 by David A. Litterer (, This archive contains all known pro and semi-pro leagues, and the data is about 98% complete. All new information will be gathered into this document as it becomes available, and submissions are welcomed. All material is fully credited at the top of the appropriate league pages.

    Prepared and maintained by David A. Litterer for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

    Author: David A. Litterer (
    Last updated: 19 Aug 2021

    (C) Copyright David A. Litterer and RSSSF 1995/2021
    You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.